Trip to Vegas

Mr Woodpecker and I took a quick one night, two day trip to Las Vegas this past weekend to look at wedding venues. We decided that a $500 trip to Vegas to check things out might end up saving us money in the long run. This was DEFINITELY true!

Before going I figured we’d end up going with Caesar’s Palace. From the websites that was the venue I liked the most. After visiting about 10 different venues and talking to many consultants, we narrowed it down to two: Planet Hollywood and Cosmopolitan.

Planet Hollywood because it was the least expensive option to give us everything we wanted (we could do the wedding + reception of appetizers and drinks for around $5,000). The chapel there was pretty and they use the photographer we wanted.

Cosmopolitan because it is just perfect. Exactly what we wanted. But the price? Not exactly cheap. The wedding + reception of appetizers and drinks for around $7,500. They also use the photographer we wanted.

The two venues are not equal is quality or amenities offered.

Getting back home and the smell of Vegas dissipating from our clothing… well, we’re not sure. The Vegas wedding would be fun and beautiful. But do we really need to spend close to $10,000 when we include rings, dresses, travel, ceremony, reception, etc. And not even provide a full meal for our friends and family who have traveled to spend the day with us?

So now we’re considering using a chapel on his school campus ($400 for  3 hour reservation) and the reception at the restaurant that we had our first date at (~$3000 for a meal for 40 people). I don’t care about flowers and things like that, so I’ll probably just do an inexpensive bouquet and have that be it for flowers/decoration. I think we may even just skip the cake since neither of it really like it and just have everyone order dessert from the restaurant. I think we could do everything for $5,000 total and avoid the expensive of airfare AND provide a meal for everyone. Also, our family from out of town would get a chance to see our home which would be nice.

Then again, there is a lot of fun to be had in Vegas… and that could be awesome.

6 Responses to Trip to Vegas

  1. Jan says:

    I think Vegas weddings are a little tacky. I think it would be nice to get married in your town and like you said your family could see your home and so on. Plus you spend lesser!

    • SS4BC says:

      I have to absolutely disagree with you about Vegas weddings. Can you do them tacky? Yes. Can you do them beautiful, fun, meaningful? Absolutely.

      I like the idea of a Vegas wedding because quite honestly, I don’t want to plan a wedding. I like the idea of flying off, putting on my dress, and every other detail is taken care of for me. I don’t want the stress of hauling things, ordering a cake, making sure this or that gets picked up, etc.

  2. eemusings says:

    I’m planning my own wedding right now – a small, casual one with ceremony in an old chapel and reception a few steps away in a former wine cellar. We’ll be skipping a lot of things that I don’t give two hoots about – flowers, live band, video etc! (http://nzmuse.com/2012/12/bullshit-free-bride-boiling-it-down-to-the-essentials/)

    I’m hoping for a $5k wedding, and I’m really happy about all our decisions. The only thing is it will be a lot more DIY – we’ll have to work out how to deal with the set up and pack down afterwards (whereas if we spent more and went with a fancier venue with staff and all that we could just drive off into the sunset at the end and not worry about all that).

    It’s all personal – once you decide what type of celebration you want then it will all start falling into place.

    • SS4BC says:

      Your last sentence is what I struggle with the most. I don’t *know* what type of celebration I want. Neither my fiance or myself ever thought we’d ever get married. So neither of us have an idea for how we want to celebrate. I know what I don’t care about (bridal party, flowers, music, DJ, dancing) but I don’t know what I want it to be. A big affair? A backyard wedding? A formal reception? A small dinner? I just don’t know. And I also don’t really care. I mean, it is my wedding so I should care, but no matter how the wedding is I’m just excited to share my life with Mr Woodpecker and have my family there. All the rest is just details – and those details are paralyzing me because there are so many options and I don’t think there is a wrong decision for us.

  3. ND Chic says:

    After reading your response to eemusings, why don’t you elope with just you guys? You can have your honeymoon, focus on yourselves and your future, and not have to worry about the details. By eloping, I mean why don’t just the two of you go somewhere and get married.

    I eloped and got married. My sister and my husband’s friend stood up for us. We hung out all day on our wedding day and had a blast. I’m with you on not planning all the details. That stuff doesn’t interest me in the least.

  4. Benji W. says:

    I enjoyed my small wedding. There’s just something more personal about it. My wife love choosing every petal and ever color of everything, but she got her perfect wedding and I was happy because she was happy. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

