One of these summers…

It is officially my second summer as a new professor. I swore to myself that I would give myself SOME time to relax, unlike last summer.

Last summer I was running high school day camps, taking a 2.5 hr per day class (Calculus, for refreshing and fun), and teaching a 2.5 hr per day class. It was exhausting. By the time August rolled around I had enough money/time for a 3 day trip to San Diego but that was my “summer vacation”.

This year is going along the same pace. I’m almost finished with the teaching (online, which is my first time), we’re finally done with the summer camps for high school students, and this past week I started doing my summer research. And in that I’m teaching a class to high school teachers next week, having friends and family visit at 3 different points this summer, oh and trying to keep up on unpacking, hanging things up, etc on my new house. I’m already exhausted. Thankfully I have nothing planned for August so I’ll relax for about 2 weeks before my contract begins. I’m sure that people will be contacting me half way in to that for meetings and questions, etc.

Financially speaking, Mr Woodpecker and I are going to start going to Financial Peace University starting next week. I haven’t told him a lot about it, just that it will help us learn to set goals about money together and talk productively about money. So far we haven’t had an issue. I made up a budget for myself while he was sitting next to me playing video games and he kept looking over and asking questions, which I think is a very good thing.

Then we went through and talked about what our financial goals are together for the house and personally.

It was a really good talk.

I’m excited for us to take this journey together and so thankful that I have a partner who wants to put in the time and effort  to make this work – together.

3 Responses to One of these summers…

  1. Dave says:

    My fiance (now wife) had a great time at FPU! It really helped to open up our eyes to money and talk more about our hopes, dreams, and how we wanted to get there. I’m sure you’ll love it!

  2. TeacHer says:

    One of these summers I’m going to relax, too!

  3. Stephanie says:

    I love that you say you took a calculus refresher for “fun”. 😛

    Looking forward to hearing more about FPU.

Leave a Reply

