Home Ownership

Last week I signed the papers and received the keys. I’m OFFICIALLY a home owner.

It’s been a pretty crazy week. Having to hand over a nearly $10,000 check was quite an experience.

Since then it has been a whirlwind. I hired a guy to replace the popcorn ceilings in the house. But I couldn’t afford the whole house, so he’s just replacing the ones in the living room/dining room/kitchen and in the master bedroom and bath. The other two bedrooms, basement, and other two baths will have to wait and just get put on the “to do” list that seems to be ever growing.

I’ve invested myself into project “remove all brass” – which thus far has entailed the purchase of 14 new door knobs, two ceiling fans, one dining room light, and 3 fixtures for the 3 bathrooms. The door knobs are now installed (that was last Saturday’s project) and the fans and dining room light are being installed by the guys doing my ceiling.

I am just now starting to pack up my apartment and remembering very vividly how much I hate packing!

Just like every move I’ve ever done, this is a great opportunity to go through my things and assess if they’re worth keeping. I’ve got a few bags of clothes to get rid of and some books so far. I know that the “give away” pile will get bigger as my rate of packing increases.

I feel very strapped for cash and Mr Woodpecker and I have both agreed that after the ceiling is replaced we’re going to put a hiatus on new projects until our savings account is at a comfortable level. For me this is around $3,000 now.

Being a home owner is so far great – well, it will be greater when I finally get to move in!

5 Responses to Home Ownership

  1. Leigh says:

    Congratulations!!!

  2. Michelle says:

    Congrats on your house!

  3. Jen says:

    Congratulations! I’m a long-time reader but don’t think I’ve commented before. I think it’s a great idea to build some savings. My husband and I bought a house in December and we’ve found the to-do list continually grows, and things pop up. Our house was hit by lightning last month and insurance will cover the costs above the $500 deductible, but for some things we paid out of pocket and will get reimbursed. Having a nice savings cushion definitely helps as a homeowner!

  4. Mary says:

    Congrats on being a homeowner! It’s fabulous, isn’t it?

  5. Revanche says:

    Holy moly, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

