Weight Watchers

My best friend in Kansas is getting married in June. And guess what! I’m her maid of honor!

We’ve got our dresses (she let me pick whichever dress I wanted as long as it was a certain color) and everything is going really well.

Except, she’s been very sick the past 3 months and was recently diagnosed with hypothyroidism and fibromyalgia. The net result is that my former workout partner has been out of commission for the past 5 months. Last week she told me: I can’t fit into my wedding dress. I’m going to join weight watchers.

Well, being the good maid of honor I am (and having about 25 pounds I wouldn’t mind dumping) I immediately offered to join with her. That day we were at a Weight Watchers meeting and I had forked out $42.95. (gulp)

We vowed to give it three months of weekly meetings and monitoring points.

I had my first weigh in (162.8 lb) last Thursday and have been following the Weight Watchers plan diligently since Thursday night after the meeting.

Some things I’ve noticed:

  • I feel way more hungry when I track what I eat than when I don’t. Thinking about tracking my food makes me hungry.
  • Weight Watchers is a lot like budgeting. You get a certain amount of points (dollars) and you have to decide if what you want to eat is worth the points (money). I find myself frequently looking up the points values for foods and saying “Woah! Not worth it!” and choosing something different. Other foods I look up the points values and say “Well, I really want to eat it, so I’ll just have to take those points and cut back in other areas.” Yeah, it is pretty much just like budgeting.
  • With Weight Watchers all fruits and veggies (with corn, peas, and white potatoes as exceptions) are 0 points. Oh you sneaky Weight Watchers – I’m on to your ruse! Here’s what they do… First, eat less than you normally do but you still use all your points. Then, you’re still hungry but you’ve used up all your points. Next, you decide to eat some bell peppers or a banana to make you feel full because you’re still hungry. Finally, YOU’RE EATING MORE FRUITS AND VEGGIES! They’ve sneakily added fruits and veggies to my diet and that was very clever how they did that. I’m eating more fruits and veggies now than I ever have. Jerks. šŸ˜‰

I’m very happy so far about joining even though it is costing a pretty penny.

6 Responses to Weight Watchers

  1. I joined WW online about 5 years ago……I started at in October and by May I was down to my lowest as an adult, 147.

    I wasn’t able to continue paying for the membership, so I cancelled and tried to do it on my own and over the past 5 years I’ve gained it all back (and more, sadly).

    Recently my Mom bought me an Eat Clean Diet book and I’ve been pairing it with tracking via Lose It (free) and I’m down about 8.5 lbs and one size in a month and a half — could have been better — but I’m heading in the right direction.

    Best of luck with your weight loss!!! Sometimes it’s great to have a milestone to look forward to!

  2. thisaggiesaves says:

    WW works when you stick to it. Good luck to you and your friend!

  3. I had good luck with WW – made lifetime and maintained for a year and a half until I got pregnant. Now I have another 40 pounds and am back on the WW wagon again. Gl!

  4. I love WW, I just can’t afford it. Good luck to you, can’t wait to read about your success!!

  5. Revanche says:

    Sneaky indeed!! I learned in nutrition that a serving size of fruit or veg, unprocessed, was only 70 cals so it makes perfect sense (without knowing anything about WW points) not to penalize for them and actually make them the go-to zero point food. šŸ™‚

    What a good maid of honor you are and best of luck to your friend.

  6. Stephanie says:

    Like BCBB, I (sometimes) use LoseIt (app/website). Similar idea to WW in that you track everything, and you get a budget. But it’s more for tracking calories that “points”. But I also learned that eating fruits or veggies is way better than snacking on something unhealthy. Good luck! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

