The Ins and Outs, Highs and Lows

The last month or so has been a whirl wind of emotions and craziness.

I did eventually break things off with Mr. Hive. He did start school, which I was happy for. But the realization that I would have to forever be a mother to him and nothing would motivate him except the fear of losing me was just too much for me. So yes fellows, SS4BC is available again. πŸ˜‰

The new summer semester started and it has been crazier than I ever imagined. I’m taking a calculus class to “brush up” my skills that is 2.5 hours a day + 5 hours a day of homework. I wish I were joking about the amount of homework. I’m not. It is crazy. Then I’m teaching a Chem class in the afternoon for 2.5 hours. The extra money is pretty damn sweet. This paycheck I got a cool $800 more than I usually do on a single paycheck. All going to savings and debt, of course.

Today was a epic mail day. I got my almost $700 tax refund from my state income taxes, a $25 gift card from Target (for using Points to Blue with Blue Cross/Blue Shield) and I got a coupon for a free drink from Starbucks. Seriously, does it get any better than this in the mail?

My debt? Well, it isn’t going to well. All those travel expenses for work just sitting on my card that I can’t reimburse until July (at least) are killing me slowly. I did put the card away, but not untilΒ  I had pushed myself back up to close to my limit. I can’t be trusted with credit cards. I need to realize this, embrace it, and figure out a plan to avoid this in the future.

I’m thinking of just setting aside my tax refund into a savings account that is just for reimbursable purchases – that way I never have to worry about pulling out the credit card again. It may even be time just to put the scissors to the card. I’m not sure if I’m that extreme or prepared to do so yet though… in a lot of ways that card is my security blanket. But I need to become my OWN security blanket.

17 Responses to The Ins and Outs, Highs and Lows

  1. eemusings says:

    Sorry to hear that lady, but I am sure you made the right choice for you.

    Security is something I agree is vital. I know someone whose marriage recently broke up and while I am heartbroken for her, I think it’s also a reminder of why it’s vital to be able to support yourself independently….and why you shouldn’t change your name. But seriously, self-sufficiency is the name of the game.

  2. jane says:

    free, single, disengaged but full of purpose and potential. I want to say something encouraging about the breakup (especially since I was one of those who really thought it was best to break it off) but everything I could think to say sounds kinda cliche, so just know that people are supporting you during this rough patch. Keep those insightful articles coming.

  3. findingserenity2010 says:

    Good to see you back in action! Life never seems to slow down, even when something traumatic as a breakup happens, but sometimes it’s good to stay busy.

    I’d agree with putting the scissors to the credit card. I finally did that myself (leaving 1 card … but it’s on ice … and only for emergencies). I just had a friend decide to get a credit card to help him through “those weeks when my bills leave me broke.” I just wanted to cry. If we could live without those stupid things, it would be great.

    Best of luck with the summer class. This time last year, I was definitely in your boat, busy as heck and not making that much money. Glad you’re staying in the game though!

  4. Sorry to hear that things did not work out with you and Mr. Hive.

    Curses on late reimbursement! In cases like this, I’ve used my EF to pay off the CC, then put the cheque back into my EF. But I don’t think Dave Ramsey would approve:)

  5. joshuca says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your relationship.
    Best of luck in your classes this summer!

  6. That sucks about Mr. Hive. But I think you did the right thing.

    And I agree with the cards, those things are so freakin dangerous.

  7. LBC Teacher says:

    Hang in there with the break up. And I think having a fund for reimbursable expenses is smart, especially if you have trouble with credit card control. I say keep one car on ice and cut up the rest. As much as we don’t want to use a CC for emergencies, life happens.

    And yuck! on the calculus. That sounds horrible…but I hate math, so there’s that.

  8. Julie K says:

    Hey! I cut up my credit card last week and it immediately felt awesome! I felt like I needed that card for “emergencies” but in the past 2 years that I’ve been struggling with my finances, I’ve never once needed it for emergencies. I used it to pay for dinners, spend more than I need on groceries and lastly, I spent it on material junk. I’ve paid my card off 3 times in the past 2 years and I now have another balance of $2K. I clearly needed to do something different this time so I cut it up. I wanted to be able to keep it in my wallet but obviously I’m not at that point yet. πŸ™‚

  9. I just want to say “Yay! Calculus!”

  10. nd chic says:

    Good for you for doing what you know you needed to do. I know that it wasn’t easy but you won’t regret it. I would set aside your tax refund to cover reimbursable expenses.

  11. Lane says:

    I just wanted to say “thank you” for blogging a few weeks earlier about your reimbursement dilemma. I made a mental note to start a “reimbursable fund” prior to my 4-week long business trip, and I actually followed through. Thanks to you I’m not feeling the pinch of the reimbursement waiting game.

    Thank you! And I’m sure there’s more fish in the sea πŸ™‚ Small steps..

  12. Good luck! Definitely freeze those credit cards!!! Waiting for reimbursements sucks. I took a summer calculus class like that in high school. Have you seen khanacademy? It’s a really awesome website that will allow you to brush up math and other skills on your own time. It’s got lectures and tests. We’re having incoming students brush up their skills before taking the intense core math classes in our major.

    Re: Mr. Hive. What was missing from your last post was the idea that you want him to do something for himself because you love him and you want him to be happy. Sometimes two people can both be very good people but it just isn’t going to work out.

  13. Serendipity says:

    Sad to hear that it didn’t work out but I’m happy you made the best choice for you.

  14. With the wedding – our credit card spending is out of control too. We keep trying…and failing at keeping it under control.

    I have a plan to pay it off before Christmas – but that feels like a million years away annd it’s likely to fall apart.

    i’ll be crossing my fingers for the both of us.

  15. Christa says:

    What an awesome mail day! Money galore in those little envelopes is always great! Your “eliminate credit card” idea sounds like a great plan — good luck!

  16. I’d have to say that I totally understand your post about cc spending – I’m back in the hole too, though I dont want to admit it, and I may not be as bad off as I thought. I’m just not sure yet. My work cuts checks to reimburse quickly, but sometimes the boss is slow to pass it up the chain.
    As far as Mr Hive, I hope you’re feeling ok. Things will bounce back – they always do.

  17. Sorry to hear about you and the Mr. Hive, but it sounds like it was for the best. I definitely understand the security of having a credit card. Have you tried putting a label on the card, with big block letters saying something like ‘Emergency only’ or ‘Put me back!’? My friend did this and found it helpful in cutting the spending on the credit card.

Leave a Reply

