Frustration

Over a year ago I applied for my dream job. Dream. Job. The exact type school I wanted to be in, the city I wanted to be in.

I was exceptionally (if not overqualified) for the position and since I’d taught adjunct at the same school after finishing my Ph.D. I had a high level of confidence that my application would be well received.

Three months after submitting my application I called the Dean and he told me that they weren’t going to review applications until the following year. I couldn’t resubmit an application because I already had one in the books. And in the mean time I interviewed and got my current job. Which I enjoy, but I know the other job was far more suited for me.

I would have a higher likelihood of success in research at the other school. I would be back in the same town as my best friends. I would have a higher caliber of students.

A few months ago I helped a friend of mine from graduate school apply for the job at my dream school. I sent him my application material as a guide for what they wanted. I found out today that he got the position. And I’m frustrated. That was the job that I’d been dreaming of for years.

There is another position open at the school. I’m tempted beyond all belief to apply for it. I’m on contract here for another year and I’ll stay here another year. But with everything that is happening here I think it would be in my best interest to at least try applying for it one more time.

That school is doing well. I am a far improved candidate than I was when I originally applied for that position. I think I have a greater chance of success this time around. And if I don’t get it, I don’t get it.

12 Responses to Frustration

  1. Allison says:

    I say go for it! It can’t hurt to try.

  2. Katie says:

    As a fellow academic (of sorts, but similar issues surrounding jobs), I feel your frustration. The perfect balance of location, fit, and timing is so hard to nail. Put together a kickass application and put it out there. Good good good luck!

  3. Good luck! Follow your dreams if you can.

  4. addvodka says:

    Go for it! Good luck! Even if you don’t get it, it shows that you really want to work there – I’m sure they’ll remember you applying more than once.

  5. All you can do is apply. Good luck!

  6. ND Chic says:

    I would apply for it and see how it goes. If it doesn’t work out, at least you will know that you tried. Can you add me to your blogroll? Thanks.

  7. Derek says:

    Don’t worry! You’ve invested time and energy into your friend’s livelyhood and you’re looking at a huge ROI; now you’ve got someone on the inside to sing your praises. I think its time to start a savings fund for “The Move.”

  8. I’m a true believer that everything happens for a reason. There was a reason why you didn’t get that job at that particular time. But when/if you do get the job, trust me, you will be in the right place to be very successful in it.

    Good luck with the second go around!

    • SS4BC says:

      I also believe this as well. I have to admit, even with all the craziness of my job right now, I love the city I’m in, I love the people I’ve met, and I love my coworkers. Who knows what direction my life would have taken if I’d actually gotten the other job. It may not have been as great of a life choice for me!

      Though I would really have loved to be in the same city as my good friends.

  9. Why not? Everyone is so mobile nowadays (and especially at your age) that there’s no real point to staying in a place for the people.

    I’ve heard the CA system isn’t doing that great either financially, though. Is there any way to make sure you’re not jumping out of the frying pan and into the fire re: job security?

    • SS4BC says:

      It is a private school, not one in the CA system, so I wouldn’t have to worry about state budget issues like that (as much).

  10. scn says:

    I like Derek’s thinking above. What a bummer to apply, and then later see a friend get the job! Good luck in applying for this new position that has opened up. Hoping good things come your way 🙂 I enjoy reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

