Teaching Over the Summer!

I heard back late Thursday from the Dean of the Science department from the local community college and they’ve offered me the teaching position. I’m super excited!

I’ll get paid $3,500 for the 8 week class.

If my class makes at my school I’ll also get another $2,000 minimum (up to $3,000 depending on the number of students). If less than 4 enroll it will get cancelled and I get nada. Boo.

I’m pretty stoked though that for SURE I’ll get an extra $3,500 this summer. This will be COMPLETELY on top of my normal pay.

However, this does mean that my super awesome road trip will be cut from the summer agenda.

Mr Hive and I are planning a long weekend road trip to Texas to visit his parents in July. Then I’ll have 2.5 weeks off before my contract begins at my school. So I may still take my shortened version during that time, but my dad is also talking about the two of us going scuba diving during that time. Which I would MUCH rather do. I LOVE diving!

Knowing my dad though there is only a 50% chance that going diving will materialize. However, I would love to take a road trip to the keys and spend 4-5 days diving before the school starts.

I’m getting really excited for the summer. Just a few more weeks of classes!!

10 Responses to Teaching Over the Summer!

  1. AWESOME!!!! Hope you get enough students. Also very cool about the diving, peer pressure your dad into making that materialize lol.

  2. You’re going to be able to make some big dents in your debt!

  3. daisy says:

    Yay! Congrats! You sound about as excited for this semester to end as I am, haah!

  4. Cassie says:

    Congratulations on the summer income! That’s awesome!

  5. awesome. Congrats. looks like summer is shaping up nicely for you.

  6. Awesome, congratulations SS4BC! 🙂 You are going to have your goals met in no time… 🙂 Can’t wait to read about it!

  7. Congrats!!! I hope you do get to go diving – sounds like a great way to spend your summer vacation.

  8. Jackie says:

    Congrats on the summer job. I am sure you will get enough students. Hope the diving materializes for you. It sounds like lots of fun.

  9. Pingback: Changes to the Budget « Small Steps for Big Change

  10. Pingback: The Business Trip « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

