The Cons of Being an Educator

1. I am pretty  much constantly sick. Seriously. Every germ and virus those students have gets passed to me. I have never been more sick in my entire life.

2. Dealing with students who care more about grades than learning. I honestly want to tell them that if they’re not coming in to my office to get help with the material or talk about the material, that they’re not allowed in my office to bitch about grades. If you don’t care about the material, I don’t care about your grade. If only I could actually enforce that.

3. Grading. It. Never. Stops.

The pros? Spring break in 1 week… I am counting the days…

9 Responses to The Cons of Being an Educator

  1. TeacHer says:

    #1 – You will build up an immunity!

    #2 – Amen. Although, I have so many students who care about NOTHING (including grades) that I would be happy if even grades motivated them.

    #3 – TRUE!!!!!

    Other pros?

    1. Not working in a corporate environment (I’m so not into the idea of working for The Man)
    2. Summers off (if you want)
    3. The opportunity to really impact kids’ lives (even if you can’t see your impact right away)

  2. SS4BC says:

    Maybe I’m just jaded, but I sure do feel like the administration is “the man”.

    I was just talking about summers off with one of the other new faculty members here. We’re trying to decide if working 8 months a year, non-stop, with grading and lecture preps and student emails in the evening and weekends and getting 4 months of vacation a year (summer + Christmas + spring break) is worth the trade-off compared to working 11.5 months a year but getting to LEAVE your job when you go home at night.

    While I may only be “at work” 45 hours a week (on a good week), I’m still working most nights until 9-10pm.

    It would be nice to have a life while I’m teaching.

  3. Christy says:

    You will build up an immunity, like TeacHer says! I have been teaching 11 years and I am finally at the point where I’m not sick all the time! Her pros are very good too 🙂

  4. TWG says:

    I considered teaching as a profession but after four years of substitute teaching and coaching sports, I was done. I think I could handle it if I was teaching at the university level though. I hear you on Spring Break. I’m literally counting the seconds.

  5. *puts up hand*

    As a student, yes… Please give me all A+’s… Or I’ll inflict my germies onto you.

    >:-)

    j/k. I wouldn’t inflict to you… you’re not one of my profs. ^__~

  6. Ingrid Nevin says:

    I am currently a student at undergrad level myself (albeit older than most of them) and even I get annoyed by my “peers” asking about grades.
    Would I deeply appreciate some guidance so that I don’t attempt the futile endeavour of remembering the entire textbook for the exam – because I am not sure what level of detail would be tested? Yes, absolutely. But most of the time I come to talk to professors is to ask questions about the material because I am genuinely curious.

    On the other hand, it took me an entire degree and several years in “the real world” to discover what I wanted to do. And now I am studying what is really mine, so I love the material. But my first undergrad? Yes, I am afraid I can relate to the students who just want the grade. I don’t know whether this is the kind of feedback a professor could give or whether this something a person needs to figure out on their own…. But if you consistently don’t care about the material, are you really going in the direction that will make you happy?

  7. Ok, I apologize on behalf of students. But can you see how grading gets to us? We need it, or else…we’ll…die. (Being facetious there…btw). I’ll just have to say, it bugs me a bit though that profs are constantly telling us to focus on learning and not about the grade when you make midterms/finals so much of the class. I feel like learning would be encouraged if the tests weren’t graded to heavily but instead maybe homework or weekly quizzes. But yes, we’ll be concerned with getting the right answer (by any means necessary), if our future depends on it.

  8. Clare says:

    Kids are a petri dish of germs! My friend is a kindergarten teacher and always has pink eye. 😦

  9. Nice Post. I was a teacher and my wife still is and I know what you mean. I left teaching because it got to the point where all I was doing was disciplining the children instead of teaching. it actually became what I was teaching … “How to act in public.” Anyways, I feel your pain. How long have you been teaching?
    http://thefirefinder.com

Leave a Reply

