It’s Winter – Don’t Cheap Out

In case you’ve been living under a rock or have no friends on Facebook who live in the midwest: We had a blizzard here last night. There is currently a layer of a little over 14″ of snow outside my apartment.

This is pretty much what it looks like outside:

Image from Kansas City Star

It is white and beautiful and dangerous!

I have a dog. Which means that even if I don’t have to go to work (which I will have to do tomorrow) I still have to go outside. I’ve realize that I’m thankful for so many things that I made sure to get BEFORE the cold weather started.

1. A decent jacket.

Now. I didn’t go balls to the wall on my jacket. It isn’t a huge parka or the heaviest pea coat you’ve ever seen. It is a basic, run of the mill pea coat that I bought for around $49 before I moved to the Midwest 3 years ago. My secret to keeping warm? I bought a size larger and wear a sweat shirt underneath. I then use the sweatshirt hood as my hat. It works great, I didn’t pay a lot, and I stay warm.

2. Warm gloves.

I have two pairs of gloves. One for moderately cold days that are those cheapy little $1 one size fits all gloves. I wear those most of the times. But on days like this where the HIGH is in the single digits, I pull out my big boys: the thick fleece gloves. I got myself quite a deal on these babies: $14 at Costco. I’m very prone for frostbite and when these things are on my fingers never get cold.

3. Snow boots.

I thought snow boots were retarded the first year I was in real winter (remember I moved from San Diego before this). After my first winter I got myself a cheap pair of snow boots at Target. I don’t remember how much they cost, but I do recall they were the cheapest ones in the store. I also remember I bought the boys ones because they were cheaper than the girls. And they’re black, so I don’t think anyone notices. They keep my feet warm, dry, and are great for stomping on a foot of snow. Three winters in and I’m still digging my snow shoes.

4. Snow pants.

This year I bought myself some ski/snow pants. They were on sale for $65. I was in the store trying every brand they had that was under $100. I was down to two: one that made me look SUPER good in the butt department and one that cost $30 less. I decided that if someone is judging my ass in the middle of a snow storm they’ve got bigger problems and saved myself some money. The pants that I got are two layered, so I tuck the second layer in to my snow boots and put the outer layer over the boots. That way when I’m walking in knee high snow (like I was today) my socks/feet/legs don’t get snow on them. Hands down these pants are the best $65 I’ve spent on snow attire ever.

5. Snow shovel

After I couldn’t get out of my parking spot last snow to get to work, I went and bought a snow shovel. Boy I wish I’d bought it sooner. It only took me about 20 minutes this morning to unpack my car from the foot of snow that surrounded it. The shovel I got cost $20, is ergonomic, easy to use, and fits in my car. Perfect!

6. Car window cover

Dogfood provider let me know of a this very handy contraption when I was considering whether to get a garage or not. I wasn’t so sure about spending $29 + S/H for the one she linked to, but I DID find an cheaper version at Walmart for $8. I use it every night. BF liked it so much I had to get one for him for Christmas, too. I pull it off the windshield and the snow or ice comes right off – it is AMAZING. If you live in a snowy state and don’t have one of these things, you’re truly missing out.

Be Prepared

During these cold winter months please stay prepared. Don’t drive if you don’t have to. If you do have to drive please make sure that you have a flashlight, a blanket, some water, and a bit to eat with you. No one ever knows when trouble is coming, so it is better to be safe than sorry.

Also… if you were flying out of Kansas City – CONGRATS if you were going to Providence:

Image from Kansas City Star

6 Responses to It’s Winter – Don’t Cheap Out

  1. psychsarah says:

    I believe buying quality winter gear is worth the money for sure. I bought some expensive-to-me-at-the-time winter boots (probably $15o if memory serves) when I lived in Thunder Bay, Ontario (imagine 5 hours north of Minnesota), and they’re going on their 6th season, and my feet are always warm and dry-priceless these days!

  2. Pingback: Link Roundup: Just the Girls Edition | Well Heeled Blog

  3. moralia says:

    I agree! When you live somewhere that gets brutal cold winters, buy high quality items! It’s worth being warm during our 6 months of winter! lol!

  4. Kathleen says:

    I live near Boston but grew up in San Diego–after getting more than 60″ of snow in a little over a month, I want to move back home! But anyway, your list of winter gear is spot on. I’ve got most of the items on your list except for snow pants and a car window cover (not necessary anymore thanks to underground parking). Having a good parka, snow boots, and warm gloves has made the last few winters a lot more tolerable!

  5. Haha… “balls to the wall!” I haven’t heard that in years. I’m actually a little nostalgic after not having experienced winter in a couple of years. I think next winter will be a shock to the system though!

  6. Great post! It’s so hard to imagine cold and snow, as it’s summer and HOT here in the southern hemisphere 🙂

Leave a Reply

