Weekend Sickness

After my Friday classes ended I felt drained. Really tired.

I went to lunch and had absolutely no appetite but forced myself to  eat a side salad and a cup of soup. I barely finished either.

All I wanted to do want to curl up in a ball and sleep all day. Which I would have left work to do if it hadn’t been for the fact that we had some perspective students on campus I needed to meet with. So I slept in my office curled in the corner behind my desk for two hours until my meeting.

The little nap helped and by the time of my meeting I was ready to go. But the end of the meetings I was done. Exhausted. Finished.

I got home from work at 4:45pm. I let my dog out. Fed him. Then went to bed (the dog curled up next to me starting at 5pm and never left my side). I woke up at 8am. I felt even worse. I let the dog out again. He was so good – walked real slowly because he could tell I couldn’t keep up with him today.

The rest of Saturday is a blur of being hunched or squatting over  the toilet losing it from both ends and being nauseous just from drinking water. From after lunch on Friday to Sunday mid-day I ate a banana and two bites of chicken soup. All of which later came back the same way they went in.

In short: I was miserable.

Sunday I decided that enough was enough. I had BF drive me to the Urgent Care. The physician there said I had a virus that has been “going around”. She gave me a prescription for anti-nausea and something to slow down my digestive track. Within 30 minutes of taking the anti-nausea I felt 60% better.

Better enough to eat, better enough to drink.

Between 2pm (when I started feeling better) and 10pm (when I went to bed) I drank around 48oz of Gatorade or water. And none of it I peed out. That is how dehydrated I was from the Saturday of enjoying the company of my toilet.

Total cost of the weekend “fun”:

  • Co-pay at Urgent Care: $20
  • Two prescriptions filled: $20 and change at Walgreens
  • Three 32 Oz bottles of Gatorade: $5
  • Lost 6 pounds of water weight: free

All but the Gatorade I was able to put on my HSA debit card which my employer gives me $118/month on that account for choosing the least expensive health insurance option. So all I really paid for this weekend was the Gatorade. Really, quite a cheap – but entirely unpleasant on all accounts – weekend.

On the bright side, the physician told me I shouldn’t work today. So I canceled my 8am class. But I’m still at work teaching my 9am class and have meeting the rest of the day. Just because you’re sick doesn’t mean you can’t work. *sigh*

5 Responses to Weekend Sickness

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m a lurker, but that’s besides the point. If you’re sick then you shouldn’t go in. Rest and then you’ll feel well enough to work. : )

    Feel Better!

  2. So sorry to hear that you were that sick, that’s just awful!

  3. Awww being sick sucks! Hope you are feeling better!

  4. Hope you feel better soon! Yesterday a student with the plague came up to me and asked if she could be excused from class. I was like YES LEAVE GET AWAY FROM ME. It does suck how we don’t get to skip school and be babied in bed when we’re sick like we used to when we were kids. There’s no benefit now!

Leave a Reply

