I’m A Member!

For those of you who follow me on Twitter, you’ve already heard the good news: I joined a gym!

I did a week free trial at my local gym.

Really local. Super local. Like two blocks away and right on my path to work local.

I went 4 days of the 7 on my free trial.

I couldn’t go Wednesday because the weather was bad and everything was closed. I was going to go Friday night during “boy’s night” but boy’s not got turned in to “game night” and girls were invited. =)

I did 1 day on equipment, 1 in spinning class, and 2 in kick boxing class. I had SO MUCH fun.

Before I did the free week trial the price of the gym was $20/month with no commitment.

AFTER my free trial I checked the rates again and it was $16/month!!!! At that price I couldn’t say no. Even if I only went to 3 classes a week (~12 per month) I’d be paying just a little over $1 per class. What an amazing deal to stay healthy. On the flip side, because of my points to blue each class gets me 750 points (which is $0.75 in gift cards) so in a way I’d only be paying $0.25 per class assuming I went 3-4 times per week.

I’m so excited to have gotten such a great deal on a gym membership – especially since I’ll be doing exercises that I love. I’ll be updating my budget to pay for this new expense. I’ve decided that since it is only $16/month it will probably come out of my spending account rather than my bill account.

10 Responses to I’m A Member!

  1. Congrats!! Splurging on a gym membership is something G and I will ALWAYS do. I am obsessed with my gym. We definitely pay for it ($60/month each), but we think it is SOOOO worth it. I love love love that place. Enjoy!!

  2. Congrats! πŸ™‚ I know how you feel. I take exercise classes about 6 days a week and the feeling after a workout is really amazing. $16/mo is not bad! Is it a local gym? I go to a 24 hr fitness and bought my 2 yr membership at Costco for $300 = $12.50/mo but I am not sure if yours is a 24 hr fitness. $16 is a great deal compared to most clubs at $40-60/mo!

  3. Ella says:

    That’s awesome. According to me, the best gym is a gym that is close to home or work. And $16 per month is a great price! We pay $100 per month (for Mike and I), but I think it is worth it.

  4. psychsarah says:

    That’s an amazing deal-I pay over $60/month for mine, but only use it in the winter (I can put it on hold when not in use) because we exercise outside in better weather. It’s great to have something so accessible that you enjoy doing. πŸ™‚

  5. Cassie says:

    That’s soooo cheap! They didn’t make you lock in, did they?

  6. That’s pretty amazing!! Congrats on the good deal!

  7. Glad to hear that it was as nice as you had hoped. And cheap!

  8. Serendipity says:

    I think your health is an important investment. Way to go!

  9. Pingback: Work Out February «

  10. Pingback: Oh Gym… « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

