Student Evals!

Today I got my evaluations from my students on how I am as a professor. Previously I’d been evaluated by my chair, this time it was by my students.

Amazingly I didn’t get a single negative comment from any of my students! I can’t believe it! There was one student who complained about the exams being hard – and yah – they are (it’s Chemistry we’re talking about here!).

Here are a few of their comments:

She actually made Chemistry a fun class, even though I was nervous about taking it! I definitely enjoyed it more than I thought!

I loved this course. The daily homework kept me on course and was an excellent way to keep my accountable for understanding the material.

I love my Professor!!! This class made me even more sure that Chemistry is what I should be doing with my life πŸ™‚

Thanks Dr. SS4BC for a good class. Chemistry isn’t really my thing, but you made it fun nonetheless. I like zinc a lot more than i did before this class. hah. See ya next semester!

Dr. SS4BC did a very good job at teaching this class. She had a good sense of humor that helped you remember what you were learning. She kept us positively interacting with her during lecture and was good at turning a mistake into a great learning moment. She seemed very interested in the well being of each student and didn’t seem to mind when we would just chat with her (not during class time, of course). I really enjoyed having her as a teacher and am glad that I will have her this next semester too.

So I guess I meant to rate the course as above average… Dr SS4BC is great, chemistry is above average. Or average.

This is so motivating going into a new semester. I need to make sure that I maintain the enthusiasm that I had last semester so the students get their money’s worth from their education. =)

12 Responses to Student Evals!

  1. Congratulations! I have never been a professor, though I was a teaching assistant for a couple of years. The nice comments mean so much coming from the students! (Especially because you have already seen the improvement in their content knowledge from the exams and such; to know that they *enjoyed* making those improvements is priceless!)

  2. findingserenity2010 says:

    Awesome, though I’m curious about that “average” comment – wha?!

    I didn’t get bad comments, either, though I always found constructive criticism nice. You usually hear the loudest complaints before the end-of-semester evals, too. I guess students who don’t care for the class don’t bother to leave comments.

    My boss at the CC shocked me by saying it’s not usually the students, but the parents that cause the most noise. Ugh

    • SS4BC says:

      I interpreted the “average” comment to mean that they didn’t particularly like Chemistry, but they enjoyed me as a professor teaching Chemistry.

  3. Ness says:

    Congratulations! That is great. Makes me want to write more personal evals for the professors who are awesome πŸ™‚

    • SS4BC says:

      You should! I give way more value to the comments than I do the numbers. I read every comment and have made A LOT of changes based on helpful comments I’ve received from students.

  4. Great job, Dr. SS4BC! πŸ™‚ I’m glad your first semester went so well.

  5. eemusings says:

    That’s gotta warm the heart!

  6. Daisy says:

    Ohh thats so exciting! I always write very descriptive evaluations to all my profs.. good or bad. I always feel as if it will help them, but then again, I don’t know πŸ™‚
    Good job!

  7. Inga G says:

    Congratulations!
    I just went back to school for psychology, and a lot of professors we have are very likely good researchers, but they just don’t translate into good instructors.
    Complex material with a lot of information need special pace and articulation in order to set in – while they just rush through it. Humour, interesting stories? Yeah, I wish…

  8. Congrats!
    … I haven’t looked at mine yet…

  9. wow. that’s awesome. πŸ™‚
    sounds like you’d be a great prof to have.

Leave a Reply

