Financial Peace University: Preview Night

Wednesday night BF and I went to the preview night of Financial Peace University (FPU).

I knew what I was getting in to because, well, I know about Dave Ramsey. I’ve seen his steps. I know what he’ll tell me to do.

But I also wanted a way to 1) meet other people who were interested in getting out of debt IRL and 2) to find a way to open the door to BF and I talking about personal finance in a way that didn’t feel forced by me.

Taking him with me to FPU seemed like a natural way to do it.

When we got there, there were 3 other couples and 2 singles that were there. So it was a small-ish group. However everyone there was the same age as us. Bonus! It would be nice if after the first few weeks we started to get to know these people and make good friends with them.

The preview video is 30 minutes long and Dave does a good job of seeming down to earth, practical and most of all – trustworthy.

He talked about what each of the 13 weeks would cover (more than I was expecting, to be honest)

One thing that I found quite cool is that to order the kit for FPU you can’t use credit card. Check or debit card only. I love it. Not letting people get in to more debt when they sign up for the class. I think that is just plain awesome.

Afterwards BF and I were talking and he said he’d keep going with me. Good that he wasn’t put off by it.

A couple of times when Dave was talking about the financial state of the majority of people I caught BF nodding his head to Dave’s words. Especially when Dave walk talking about 70% of people living paycheck to paycheck. Even cuter – BF held my hand or had his arm around me the entire time. (We were a team!)

We ended up having a really good hour discussion after the class about finances and why I would like him to come with me and what I hope that we could get out of the class together. It seems like we’ll be doing this together – which is awesome.

The main goal I wanted (and I told BF this) was just a platform for discussion about financial issues. I know that a lot of relationships end because of fights over finances, so I wanted us to be on the same page about our finances and to have a way to talk openly about what our short, medium and long term goals about money are. He completely agreed.

And then we made out a while. 😉

22 Responses to Financial Peace University: Preview Night

  1. Talk of finances should always conclude with making out. I approve.

  2. psychsarah says:

    Sounds like a wonderful evening all around. Neat about the “no credit” rule too.

  3. Red says:

    Sounds like you both had a great time! 🙂 I’d love to meet people who are trying to get out of debt in real life. None of our friends are doing it. Mr. Red doesn’t have enough debt to sneeze at. My best friend A has no debt because she lives at home and has been able to fund school through grants. It would be nice to have someone to exchange frugal hacks with and encourage. Jealous!

    • SS4BC says:

      I know one of the other young professors at my school are trying to get out of debt. One is in the process of paying down his student loans (he was talking about having a balance summary on his fridge). The other doesn’t have any loans/debt and apparently has $20,000 in his checking account (he told me yesterday). He’s 26, this is mind blowing to me.

      But yah, I’d love to become at least casual friends with a couple or two in the class so we can get out of debt together. In real life accountability and on line accountability combined would be amazing!

  4. That is awesome. I would love to find real people who could talk personal finance with me… online friends are much better at that! 🙂

    Sounds like you 2 had a great night, I would love to bring my BF to one of these but he would resist and think he knew everything about it. Gah!

    • SS4BC says:

      Haha yah, I was really afraid of the resistance. And I’m sure he will think he knows some of it. But I tried to make a case that it wasn’t about learning as much as it was about us having a platform for discussion. I think that helped ease the transition. 😉

  5. Ana says:

    I have never heard of FPU before? Looks like there are some classes in my area too. FIrst class is free! I think I will try a preview. Please keep us informed about the classes and if they are helpful to you!!

    • SS4BC says:

      You should definitely go to the free preview! Also, if you order the book in class it is $10 cheaper than ordering online (so don’t order online!)

      The preview night is free and also the very first night is free (at least at the place I’m going to). Seriously check it out, it covers so much information!

      I plan on posting an update every week of the class – so I will definitely keep you informed. =)

  6. That’s really awesome. For a research project I was considering doing I got all the .mp3 of the videos. Some of them are real tear jerkers. I really wish more folks who needed the class would go… he provides so much hope.

    • SS4BC says:

      Yah, I’ve now seen the very first one and the last. I’m really excited to see the rest. =)

      The last one was so super good – it held me motivated for a month until the next PFU started.

  7. You had a real great post here until the last sentence. 🙂

    I swear, half the people who have PF blogs get turned on my paying down debt!

  8. FPU might be a good idea for my husband as well. We do the finances my way, but I’m not sure I’ve ever been able to convey to him why it’s a good idea to be debt-free and have a large cash reserve, much less accumulate investment money to try to create an entirely passive income. Perhaps hearing Dave say it would make more sense.

  9. well, finances is a sexy sexy topic. 😉

    glad it made you two closer.

  10. Pingback: Financial Peace University – Week 1 «

  11. Pingback: Financial Peace University – Week 3 «

  12. Christa says:

    Awesome idea! I hadn’t heard about FPU before this, so I will def have to check it out!

  13. Pingback: Financial Peace University – Week 4 « Small Steps for Big Change

  14. Pingback: Financial Peace University – Week 6 « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

