Imagine 2011

While I have a lot of things I want to accomplish in the next year,  I’m not really going to set them up as “goals” or “resolutions” for the next year. I’ve decided instead to focus on general themes for my life – or what I will call “imaginings“.

These are the things I’m going to strive for – am striving for – will strive for.

The goals for 2011 aren’t specific like “lose 10 pounds” or “save $5,000”. They’re bigger than that. This year I’m looking at improvements to my life and who I am as a person. Creating positive growth in areas of my life by whatever means possible. That is where the IMAGINING comes in.

What life do I want? How will I get there?

Personal Growth: I want to find out who I am.

I have realized in the past two weeks that absent from work I’m clueless as to who I am as a person. I have decided that for now I need to explore the part of me that wants to give to others. I also need to work on developing new friendships. While I have a great relationship with BF and a good set of people I can hang out with through him – I have very little friends of my own apart from him. A few things I have already put in to place to help develop and foster these relationships and this personal growth:

  • Attend church and Sunday school weekly to meet new people
  • Volunteer monthly at the local homeless shelter preparing and serving meals
  • Attend the monthly game night held by my local church
  • Attend Financial Peace University – to get financially more on track and connect with others in the class
  • Find a mentoring/tutoring/long term weekly tutoring commitment with adult learners/battered women/homeless shelter – I’m going to an informal training session for one held by the local community college on January 23rd

Relationship Growth: Continue to build a strong relationship with BF

The relationship that BF and I are fostering is already very strong. We make each other laugh, we are caring to each other, open with each other and we genuinely make each other very happy. One reason why is that we both put the time and effort in to treating the other person with respect and love. We both want this relationship to go somewhere stronger and are both dedicated towards nurturing each other and the relationship. It is a refreshing feeling knowing that I’m not “in it” alone and that I have someone by my side who will be there for me. He is easy to be with and I appreciate that. I want in the next year to continue to grow this relationship with trust, love and honesty. There are no set ways to do this but a conscious desire on both our parts to be the best partners to each other that we can be.

Financial Growth: Get a positive net worth.

My big financial aspiration is to have a positive net worth. I’m tired of being worth less than I owe. It is time to get in the black! There are a few ways that I plan on obtaining a positive net worth. These are my current goals, and they could change. Just so long as in the end my net worth gets to >$0.

  • Getting my Emergency Fund up to $1,200 by the end of the year
  • Reducing my credit card debt another $5,000
  • Continually investing 6% of my income (my full match) in to retirement

The reason I call this “Imagine 2011” instead of “2011 Goals” is because I want my focus not to be on set or specific WAYS to go about achieving these big themes (Personal Growth, Relationship Growth and Financial Growth) but instead on imaging what my life will be when I obtain these goals and discovering new ways to obtain them as the year continues.

Thus, I’m not setting myself concrete goals like “volunteer at 2 places” – but instead over-arching theme goals of “find out more who I am”. For now I believe that this means volunteering and getting involved in my church. But in three months this may mean exploring crafts and hobbies like hiking or mountain biking or sky diving. I’m a living, breathing, changing being – and so should my goals!

Thus in 2011 I’m going to imagine the possibilities of a better life and imagine various ways to obtain that life.

Just imagine – what will YOU do in 2011? Who do you want to be when this year is over?

8 Responses to Imagine 2011

  1. I like the way you conceptualize it – setting out where you want to go, rather than the steps required to get there.

  2. karen says:

    It’s not the destination, it’s the journey 🙂

    • karen says:

      Oops, meant to transpose it and say ‘it’s the destination not the journey’. But now it’s less witty. Ha!

      But anyways…look forward to your progress!

  3. wow – those are some pretty heavy ‘imaginings’ I really hope you get that positive net worth – you’ve been working at it so diligently 😀

  4. Stephanie says:

    That’s a really good way to think of it. I was trying to figure out what my resolutions might be. But mostly they were to be healthier, figure out my career/decide whether to go to grad school, and work towards being more aware of the world around me. So I like imagining these futures, and see what that future looks like. Thanks for posting this, I’m taking it as a suggestion.

    Oh, and you wrote “I’m tired of being worth less than I owe.” But I just wanted to figure out if your sentence maybe was hiding a bit of gloom (saying you’re worth less…) Something I think we all need to realize (and to be honest, I saw this on a billboard, yep, check this: http://theinspirationroom.com/daily/2009/recession-101-billboards/) is that self worth beats net worth. Granted, Suze Orman says “Self-worth equals net worth”…but we all need to realize we’re making progress, and that while it’s important to grow your net worth, it’s even more important to grow yourself.
    Okay, that was overly cheesy.
    Just wanted to assure you that, even if you’re in the red, you’re still a super person…at least that’s my impression from following your blog!

  5. Ness says:

    This is a great post. I love that you grouped this ideas. It seems a lot more attainable and I particularly like that you can easily think of your resolutions and the types of goals they contain (if that makes any sense).
    I just wanted to comment on the first part. You mentioned places you would like to volunteer and that you are interested in meeting new people. I just wanted to say that volunteer organizations is an awesome way to meet new people. I met a lot of really awesome people in my university’s Circle K Club. My community has a lot of volunteer organizations and you would probably find your niche in a type of club like that-like Rotary, Kiwanis, etc. Just an idea 🙂
    Good luck with your resolutions!

  6. I really love that “Imagine 2011” tagline.

    You are an incredible blogger, and I love following your blog, even if I can’t comment on everything every day.

    I think going into the black for your net worth is doable and I can’t wait to see you achieve it!

  7. I really love the idea of asking yourself, “Just imagine – what will YOU do in 2011? Who do you want to be when this year is over?” It’s so… so… EPIC.

Leave a Reply

