Message From The Dean

I got the following email from the dean of my college today:

“I want to thank you for the good work you are doing on updating the chemistry courses to make them more student/faculty effective. You are quickly gaining credibility in [our college] as a knowledgeable, competent, personable addition to the faculty.”

Of course, it then follows that compliment with a request to take on a position that requires much more responsibility: Chair of my department starting next school year.

*gulp*

This would mean less teaching responsibility (which I don’t like), but more influence in the school and a higher salary (both things I like). Oh yes, and also a lot more work and meetings (don’t like).

She is inviting me to go to a leadership conference with her and another faculty member February in Orlando. Umm… Florida in February? HECK YES. πŸ˜‰

This is a big decision… it will definitely take some thought….

P.S. – This is my 500th post on this blog – hard to believe!

19 Responses to Message From The Dean

  1. S. says:

    Wooooo Hoooo! Congrats on the offer!! Just think… will more money you could make another debt plan. πŸ˜‰

  2. Congrats! What a compliment to the work you are doing. You go girl! πŸ™‚

  3. eemusings says:

    Big decision. HUGE decision.

    Wish you the best on making your choice and of course a massive CONGRATS! Kudos, you deserve this!

  4. Oh. My. Gosh. CONGRATULTIONS, DR. SS4BC! πŸ™‚ Good luck in making this decision. I know you’ll make the right one for your career and your happiness.

  5. Dave says:

    Florida in February is nice. Today it was almost 60.

  6. Congratulations! That’s an amazing compliment, especially since you’ve only been there about a year (if I remember correctly). Best of luck, whatever you decide!

  7. Airam says:

    Wow good for you.
    It’s great to be recognized for doing a great job isn’t it?

  8. Congrats! That’s awesome. I love Florida, have fun!

  9. Red says:

    WOW! Congratulations! That is outstanding!

  10. psychsarah says:

    Congratulations! That’s an amazing compliment, and a huge promotion at this stage in your career. I’d vote for taking it-it’s a great opportunity, and once you’ve done it for a few years, you can always pass the torch along to someone else with great experience under your belt. Just my two cents-you’re obviously a smart woman, you’ll consider all the pros/cons. πŸ™‚

  11. Hot damn, your dean is president of your fan club! BIG UPS! πŸ™‚

  12. That’s fantastic. Congrats! It only proves how great you are at your profession. That’s big props to you. I know it’s teaching that you like… But think of it as a big opportunity for you with lots of perks! You’ll make a wonderful chair of your department. πŸ™‚

  13. Stephanie says:

    That is so cool! Congrats on being awesome!

  14. Stan says:

    Long time reader, first time commenter.

    You are in your first term as a new professor and they want you to be chair? As a long-time faculty member myself, I would not take this as a good thing. You either have incompetent or lazy colleagues. Get out ASAP.

    • SS4BC says:

      The department is small, about 12 people. 3 of which are new. The remaining 9 faculty members are all on their way out the door. About 6 of them are within 1-4 years or retiring. They’re not lazy or incompetent, they just don’t want the responsibility so close to retirement. Of the remaining 3, one of them has been chair for the past 15 years and wants to focus on research and the other two are split appointments with other departments (math and education; science and business) so they can’t take the position.

      I knew this was the situation coming in and have no intention of leaving. This isn’t an R01 school, being chair isn’t something that is seen as a prestigious thing like it is at other schools. It is a position that detracts from the primary goal: teaching.

      I do appreciate your comments, but I absolutely love my position, the university and my colleagues. And as this school is so small I knew that I would be asked to do a lot of things that I was not trained for before I was ready – that is the nature of the university and why I intentionally got an exceptionally broad education.

  15. Pingback: Decision Day « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

