Monday Fright Fest

I’m going to let you in on a little secret guys: I’m really scared that I’ll get debt free and then get back in debt again.

It scares me so much that sometimes I think I purposely sabotage myself. It is easier to stay in debt and be “working on it” than it is to get debt free and then “fall off the wagon”.

Truth be told: If I really, really, really, wanted to I could probably find a way out of this debt in less than a year. But the thought that I might fall back in to debt keeps me from achieving this.

I’m less disappointed at myself for working on getting out of debt than I’ll feel bad about myself if I let debt happen again.

Tell me I’m stupid… please…

Are any of the rest of you afraid of falling back in to debt after working so hard to get out of it?

8 Responses to Monday Fright Fest

  1. You know once u will be out of debt, ur good financial habits developed so far will rather motivate you to plan for retirement savings and other goals of life. Try to imagine what all you can do with extra money once you are out of debt.. I am sure you will feel better and motivated again.

  2. You’re definitely not the only one. I am scared of this too, and the fluctuations of my debt due to moving only reinforced this fear for me. Let’s stop sabotaging ourselves and just trust that we’ll see better days and never want to look back!

  3. LBC Teacher says:

    I get it. I know I can get out of consumer debt this year, but I worry about expenses in the future, like moving or getting married (not right now, but someday), or having kids…what if I use my credit card for “emergencies” and don’t stay out of debt? But, I hope that the debt free life is sweet enough that I will stay motivated to keep debt away. So, you can do it! Embrace the debt free life!

  4. You won’t get into debt again. Trust me. After you’re out of debt, all that money that was going to debt will go to savings! I dunno, I just think something changes after you go through this process. I promised myself and told my fiance EVERY DAY that I was allowing myself to go on a $500 shopping spree after I paid off all my debt. I even took a day off of work for it. Guess what happened? I spent like $90. Ha. Maybe things woulda been different if I had found better sales though? ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyways, you’re making good money and it’s not like you’re in over your head, so I think you’ll be on a good track after you’re all done. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • SS4BC says:

      Maybe you’re right. I don’t know. I also keep promising myself a shopping spree when I’m done. My number is $800 – the amount I pay to debt every month. Essentially giving myself a one month hiatus.

      But I know that when push comes to shove I would rather not spend it.

      Oh a different note, this is the first time your comment hasn’t gone directly to spam! YAY!

  5. moralia says:

    You’re stupid. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just kidding!! lol! I don’t think you’ll get back into debt again.. a friend is going through this too, she has 3 yrs of debt repayment ahead of her, but let me tell you, she’s learnt her lesson!! I think you will too!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Stay positive!! Hugs!

    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

  6. Ninja says:

    You’re stupid. I’d elaborate, but I don’t think I need to ๐Ÿ™‚ Persevere and get intense, you can do this!

  7. Don’t be scared! Be debt free and have more motivation to stay that way. The worst that can happen is that you’d have to dig yourself out again, but you already know how. The best that can happen, well, that’s up to you, right?

Leave a Reply

