Faculty Evaluation

Last week the chair of my department came and watched as I taught one of my classes. Today he sat down with me and went through his evaluation. Okay, yes, I’m going to gloat for a post. I just am glad that he thinks I’m doing a great job.

Comments on my lesson planning:

Lesson was well-planned and followed a logical order that was easy to comprehend. The students were given an 8-page handout that they filled out during the lecture. The first six pages of the handout were covered in this class period.

Comments on my instructional delivery:

Pace was easy to follow. [SS4BC] took plenty of time to ask questions and allow the students to respond. The concepts and purpose of the lesson were easy to follow.

Comments on my reinforcing activities in the classroom:

Students worked a problem on the board. Students were asked numerous questions throughout the class period. Students were given a problem to discuss in groups. This part of the class was very strong.

Suggestions for the future:

The class session went very well. It is clear that [SS4BC] relates to the students well.

 

I was really nervous about the evaluation, but it turns out I had nothing to worry about at all. I get observed again next semester in a larger class, rather than an upper division majors class he observed this time.

In other work related news, I had my first two academic proposals accepted today. And I was publicly congratulated for them by one of the much, much, much older faculty members in the college. Then afterwards I had another faculty member who is very vocal and influential come up to me and congratulate me on my proposals being successful.

So far I’m starting off my first academic job on a good foot. My students like me (well, most of them), my chair thinks I’m doing a good job teaching, my department members are supportive of my ideas, other faculty members outside my department like my ideas, the administration appears to support me as well. Needless to say, I love my job. Period. Love. My. Job.

6 Responses to Faculty Evaluation

  1. Yay! So glad to hear that this has turned out to be the right decision.

  2. payingmyself says:

    Good for you! You deserve to gloat once and while. 🙂

  3. psychsarah says:

    Congrats on the great eval and the proposals. The even better news is that you love your job. Makes life so much better when work goes well 🙂 Happy for you!

  4. Red says:

    Congrats, SS4BC! We’re all real proud of you! 🙂

  5. Wooot! Very good work, SSBC! It looks like you are in your niche. 🙂

  6. Lindy Mint says:

    So nice! My husband always worries about his teacher reviews too, and he’s been doing this for four years – never with anything to worry about either because he also loves what he does. It’s your enjoyment that the students, and your reviewers, see and react positively to.

Leave a Reply

