Money….

From looking at my RSS reader I see that lots of people have the same problem that I do right now. November was a terrible financial month. Just terrible.

Between car repairs, unexpected shuttle costs to the airport, buying a new mattress, little odds and ends things around the apartment, BF and I eating out way too much, commuting more than normal to get BF to work as well as myself, starting to buy Christmas presents, etc, etc, etc…. November has just been expensive.

I have the money for each thing, but it all seems to slowly be draining me of my money down to nothing and I really don’t like this feeling. I don’t like going in to December with a low checking account, a low yearly savings and a low E-fund. It is disconcerting to see nearly $1,000 worth of money disappear in such a short period of time.

I know that the next month isn’t going to be any easier. I need, need, need to get myself a holiday job, but can’t seem to find one. I’ll post more about my ideas for this when I return from Thanksgiving holiday.

I’m thankful that I DO have the money to cover the expenses, but having no safety net if anything else were to happen is so frightening. How did I use to live without these measures in place? Sheesh! I was playing with fire!

My grandma put it best today when she said that expenses don’t happen spread out. She said she’ll go months, sometimes years, without anything happening. And then it will all fall apart at once.

Boy do I know it! BF and I are both experiencing our “at once” at the same time. Him with his teeth and car troubles, me with the sister moving in and my car issues. Neither of us are out of the clear, but we do have some means to overcome these issues.

I hope that after the dust settles BF and I will be able to have an honest talk about saving and planning for future expenses. I know we’re not a financial unit (yet) but I think that since we’ve both had money issues forcing themselves in to our relationship it is a good time to sit down honestly and talk about what we expect/want in the future and see if those ideas are compatible.

5 Responses to Money….

  1. I so feels this way right now! and we feel like we’re on the verge of making some huge life/financial decisions and there are so many ways to go – it’s overwhelming.

  2. Jerry says:

    I feel for you. I wish there was insurance for car repairs because it is always such a drain on the budget. This time of year can be so stressful. I hope the next month leads to a better balance sheet than expected and that you and BF can get on the same page.

  3. November & December generally tends to be expensive stressful months with the holidays and whatnot. Hopefully, things will start settling down for you and your bf. *hugs*

  4. findingserenity2010 says:

    Agreed. It’s probably the fact that there’s so many people out there starting to display all their Christmas cheer, when we’re out here in the trenches working our way up from debt and refusing to put ourselves into more debt, so we’re not enjoying the holidays like everyone around us does.

    Also seems to be the month where cars decide to stop working properly and families have emergencies.

    Good luck with your sister and BF. It’s so difficult to have those talks, but they are worth it in the long run. Best of luck!

  5. moralia says:

    November was SUPER expensive for sure! I finished up all my Christmas shopping, etc… though, so that was a HUGE dent, but i’m glad it’s done! Onwards & upwards! I hope things look up for you soon!!

    ~C.
    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

