The Bed

Warning: Not my real bed.

One of the things I’ve needed to get for a while was a bed so that my sister had something to sleep on.

The way I see it I had a few options:

1. Buy her a cheap ass bed and save me some $$$. Casting my sister into eternal suffering each night

2. Buy myself a new bed and she can inherit my 9 year old queen bed.

Can you guess which one I chose? Yup, option #2.

Yesterday BF and I went bed shopping (together, awwww…). The first store I was in I was tempted with this delicious non-spring based bed. OMG. I felt like I was laying in heaven. It was so comfortable. The right amount of firm and soft, support, ect. This bed was quality. BF and I just laid on it and even snuggled (in the store, we’re gross like that) with complete bliss. The downside? $1900. For a bed. That’s a lot of dough. I managed to talk the salesmen into 2 years 0% interest, a free bed frame, free delivery, AND a free mattress protector. Calculate it all out and I’m paying ~$80/month for two years. Yikes, that’s a lot.

We then went to the other store near my apartment. Here we found another bed. Not as wonderful and dreamy as the first, but we both agreed it was about 80-85% as comfortable as the bed at the other store. The upside? It was on sale. Regular price $1695. Sale price? $995. The bonus? $50 off coupon good only for another two days. I managed to talk the salesman into a free mattress pad, free bed frame and (you guessed it) free delivery. Because of the price point (less than $1,000) I was only able to get interest free financing for 12 months. So I’d be paying (when you include tax) $90/month for one year to pay it off.

Which did I chose? Dream bed #1 or more practical bed #2?

As much as I wanted the first bed, it was twice the price as the second, and BF and I both agreed that it wasn’t twice the comfort.

So I signed the dotted line on bed #2.

On the flip side, BF mentioned that it we ever do move in together we might consider splurging together on a bed like the first one. That made me grin. Of course, he knows good and well that I don’t plan on moving in with anyone until I’m engaged, but it was still a sweet thought.

Anyway, I’ll need to redo my budget for the next year to include a $90 bed payment every month and avoid the 29% interest that starts if I DON’T get it paid off in 12 months. Dang… that’s some good incentive there. 😉

P.S. When I applied for financing I was approved for $2,800. Dang… $2,800 on a bed? That would be the nicest bed in the entire world! And at that price point I would have no interest for 3 years… and still only $80/month. Lemme tell ya… that is kinda tempting, but I’ve already made my decision. I slept on bed  #2 last night and it was fantastically comfortable!

5 Responses to The Bed

  1. One of the first things G and I plan to purchase from our new home expense fund is a new freaking bed. We sleep in a queen bed that is pretty comfortable, but it’s too damn small. G’s sleeping temperature has got to be around 115 degrees or something crazy like that and I basically sweat to death every night. Plus, he’s always in my way. Needless to say, I can’t wait to splurge on a huge bed when we have a house. A bed is IMPORTANT so I probably would have done the same thing you did. enjoy!

  2. Jessie says:

    Jordan and I got our new bed two years ago and it was glorious! It still has a few years left, but I think that next time it might be worh it to buy somethingthat was last longer.

  3. I am totally jealous. I totally need a new bed. The deal sounds awesome. That’s practically half price!

  4. moralia says:

    Awesome deal on the 2nd bed!! Wanna come bed shopping with me when we buy a new bed to get me a deal too? 😉 LOL!!

    ~C.
    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Getting $500 «

Leave a Reply

