Ignorance.

I’ve been thinking about the boy and this whole tooth debacle (btw, the surgery went fine, he’s now recouperating – I’m honestly shocked by how well the recovery is going so far).

I said yesterday:

I don’t know how I feel about this. I don’t understand how someone can ignore such a problem for so long…. How could he believe that ignoring these issues wouldn’t end up in this very result?

And as I had a moment yesterday thinking about this after I wrote the post it occurred to me that in our own ways we all do this.

I don’t exercise every day like I should. Well, someday, when I’m diagnosed with heart disease or cancer or whatever disease it is, can I really look back on my habits now and not be surprised?

I drink too much sugary beverages. Well, someday, when I’m diagnosed with diabetes (which my father has), can I really look back on my habits now and not be surprised?

I have too much debt. Well, someday, when my retirement isn’t where at the level I want it and I can’t pay in cash for the things that I need/want, can I really look back on my current habits and not be surprised?

And I realized that we all do this. We ignore things and hope they go away or hope for the best. For the boy, it was his teeth (among other things I’m sure). I have my own things I am knowingly ignoring. My day of reckoning has not arrived like it has for him. But eventually it will. It won’t be tomorrow, it won’t be next week – but it will come.

Unless I change…

4 Responses to Ignorance.

  1. Jessie says:

    wow….I went back and read yesterday’s post, and then this one again – and wow. 8 teeth.

    I think I’m due for a cleaning as well.

    • SS4BC says:

      It actually ended up being 9. The surgeon didn’t recommend saving one that the dentist thought she might be able to with a root canal and a crown. I think the surgeon was probably right.

  2. Wow yah, good realization.

  3. Pingback: Fitness Boot Camp | Well Heeled Blog

Leave a Reply

