I Want You For Your Paycheck

I can’t help it.

I know this is wrong.

But when I think about BF, I think about our future, and I think about the money situation. And I GET EXCITED about two incomes. I just do. I just imagine the things that I could do with it.

And I know this is so wrong. He is more than just a paycheck. He is more than what I can gain financially by being with another person.

I know, logically, that two people living together (which we’re not) requires more money than just one. I know that there are hidden expenses that I’m not anticipating because I’ve never lived with a guy. I know all of this. I know it.

But at the same time I can’t help thinking about it. I can’t help my mind from imagining what our money situation would be. How much easier it would be to save for the future if my income paid for living expenses and his for savings (or vice versa).

We’ve talked a bit about how a “couple” checking account situation would be. We both agree without argument on the idea of a “yours, mine and ours” checking account. Which is great. We didn’t go in to further detail about it than that. We haven’t really been together long enough for that (only 2 months-ish now).

I know approximately how much he makes, he doesn’t really know what I make (mainly because it is more than him so I’m intentionally hiding it, but he knows it is more). He knows I appreciate frugality, which makes it work well since he’s frugal by necessity.

I just… I see him… and I enjoy being with him… but I can’t help myself from thinking of the wonderful double income possibilities!!

Please tell me I’m not alone in this craziness!

(At least I’m smart enough to not TELL him this, right?)

6 Responses to I Want You For Your Paycheck

  1. Two incomes were nice – until we got married. After we got married, the tax hit meant that it made absolutely no sense for me to work any more; working basically paid for my share of the taxes and my work expenses (things like dry cleaning, lunches out, housekeeper). It made more economic sense for us to depend on one income and have me do the things we used to pay people to do with our after tax income than for me to continue to work. And I was not flipping burgers at McDonald’s; I have a professional graduate degree.

    Which is a long way of saying that there are advantages and challenges to both single and duo person households. But don’t be surprised if, at the end of the day, it ends up being less financially advantageous than you expected, but creates advantages that aren’t even on your radar right now.

  2. findingserenity2010 says:

    You’re not alone! Living with my B will actually save me on rent, utilities, and groceries. Splitting rent on a nice 2-bedroom apartment is cheaper than a crappy 1-bedroom apartment in this area! And with an extra person around to help with household chores (cleaning, cooking, etc), I’ll have some extra time, too. Of course, I’ll be spending that extra time snuggling with B 🙂 make sure you do get excited about that part of the whole deal, too.

    *to be fair, I told B how I felt about saving money, and he doesn’t care. He agrees, and he’s glad to help me out in my financial situation. Now there’s a keeper 🙂

  3. Now that my husband is working regularly again, I can’t help but be excited to have two incomes. It had been so long since he brought in a steady income that I got used to taking care of all the financials. Don’t get me wrong, I had no problems handling everything — but wow, it is SO FLIPPING NICE to have that extra income. Our savings account is starting to grow again, and this thrills me!

  4. Serendipity says:

    I like living with Rambo and I like the fact we both have an income. There’s nothing wrong with looking forward to the future and what you guys can do together. Or how it benefits you. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Link love (powered by sand, sundresses and the first burn of summer) « Musings of an Abstract Aucklander

  6. seenonflickr says:

    Having two incomes coming in is awesome. (Wait, are you hiding that you make more than him?)

Leave a Reply

