The Good, The Bad, The Internet

Hard to believe it, but I’ve been in Kansas for two weeks now.

In an effort to be frugal, I decided to “hold out” on getting internet for as long as possible. So I shopped around for deals and the best service for what I need.

I wanted to get AT&T U-Verse again, since I was happy with their service at my last place. However when I went to their page to see if I could get service, my address was in there – with all the apartments in my building – EXCEPT mine. So I called up customer service. They said that I obviously would have U-verse service in my apartment, but that they needed to add my address to the system so that they could get the guy to install it. “We’ll give you a call Monday.”

Well…. Monday passed… then the next Monday…. and the next Monday after that. So I tried calling them back. Three times I tried calling them back. And each time I was just sent to department after department after department after department. Each person seemed to not know what I was talking about, where they should send me, or they would just put me on hold for 10-15 minutes.

Eventually I decided that AT&T didn’t want me as a customer. So I started exploring other options.

Comcast was also an option here, but I had them at my apartment before I had switched to AT&T and didn’t like them. I also had the option of Time Warner Cable – but they were more expensive than AT&T U-verse.

What I ended up getting was ClearWire internet. It is not as fast as U-verse. The website says I can get up to 6Mbps, but I only have gotten 3Mbps max so far. However, it is fast enough for watching Netflix – which is all I really cared that it did to begin with. I’m pretty sure if I were a gamer of any sort I’d be disappointed. The cost is $45/month. But the awesome thing is that it works off of 4G wireless signals. So that means I can take my router anywhere there is 4G wireless and I can connect to the internet. Which is the Kansas City area is just about anywhere.

That is a pretty big perk for me.

Also, there was no installation fee and I didn’t have to have any cable guy come and install it. I just picked up my router from Best Buy, came home, plugged it in, had internet. It was super easy.

Anyway, this isn’t a sponsored post by ClearWire, but I’m thus far pretty happy with the service and the speed and how easy it was to set up.

Also – it feels REALLY good to have internet again. I missed ya’ll!

5 Responses to The Good, The Bad, The Internet

  1. Okturn delMoniq says:

    HOORAY for Internest! =)

  2. welcome back. 🙂
    glad to hear the installation went well and the pricing is okay.

  3. Jessie says:

    I miss reading your blog! Did you know Jordan and I got engaged? It’s pretty fabulous! I’m doing my best not to turn my blog into some wedding/marriage smörgåsbord (don’t have a clue how to spell that) – but there’s defn. going to be some changes to the ‘ol budget.

Leave a Reply

