Wow – Insert Next Step Here!

I sent out emails today to all of the people I met with on my interview, just general thank you emails for their time and commenting on different aspects of the interview. I also intentionally did this on the same day as the other candidate’s interview – so that I wouldn’t be far off their mind. Is that sneaky of me? 😉

Here is the email that I got back from the Vice President of Academic Affairs with-in 10 minutes of my email:

It’s great to hear from you and I am glad you had a good visit.  I too enjoyed our talk.  I am sure we will be getting back to you very soon with a decision for you.  We will not leave you hanging a long period of time.

Then an hour later I got this from the Biology faculty member who I really connected with on the interview:

It was a pleasure to get to know you.  I too enjoyed the interaction that the four of us had in the committee meeting.  I felt that we were talking “colleague to colleague”, not stranger to stranger when we discussed the issues common to us all and as we considered together ways that the issues could be successfully be addressed.  Such a discussion should be, I feel, an important part of every job interview process, but often isn’t.  I’m glad that we had that encouraging moment in time with you.

I too felt that you definitely “fit in” and would be able to work successfully with the department members in building our future. Cultural and personal intangibles are critical to establishing good team work.  It seemed that we were already beginning to build that kind of relationship between us as faculty members.  And, various faculty have communicated to me that they felt the same way.  It was a good time of growing together.

In your prayerful consideration about the possibility of becoming a part of us, you may have questions which you sense might best be answered by a “typical faculty member” rather than a person from leadership.  I want you to feel free to ask any question or initiate any discussion with me or with [other member of the search committee] that you might feel helpful to you.  We want to be as candid and open with you as you need.

Thank you for the transparency and enthusiasm with which you approached the interview process.  We are glad that there are young people like you eager to join our ranks.

And, finally, from the Chair of the Department:

We really enjoyed having a chance to meet you and hear your ideas.  We feel that you are the type of person we need to take our chemistry program to the next level.  I just notified [the vice president of academic affairs] that our search committee’s recommendation is to offer the position to you.  He agreed with the decision and he will be contacting you in the next few days to discuss an offer with you.

If you have any questions or if there is anything else I can do to help with your decision, please call me or email me.

So there you have it folks, I just landed a job on my very first academic interview. We’ll see if I can negotiate for December. Otherwise, this may be a VERY interesting few months.

18 Responses to Wow – Insert Next Step Here!

  1. Jessie says:

    Congratulations – that is thrilling news!

  2. Okturn delMoniq says:

    That is the hottest thing I have seen all day! And that is saying a lot seeing as how my sequencing gel accidentally got up to 254 watts during lab meeting this morning.

    You totally rock, and it such a great feeling to have confirmed in a setting like this.

  3. Congrats, girl!!! WOO-HOO! But wait, where is thisschool? I just want to know if you are going to be happy where you end up.

  4. Airam says:

    YEAH!!! Congratulations!

  5. Serendipity says:

    CONGRATS! I knew something would work out for you and I’m so happy everything is coming together! Yay!

  6. lifeasapurse says:

    Congratulations, SS4BC, I’m so thrilled for you. 🙂

  7. Sunflowers says:

    Congrats!! 😀

  8. LeeAnn says:

    Yippe & congrats!!

    LeeAnn

  9. Congratulations! Don’t you just love it when your interviewers say such positive things? It’s always a good sign, IME.

  10. eemusings says:

    Congrats!!! You go girl – that job is in the bag! Hope negotiations go well and you can arrange the start date that suits you 🙂 🙂

    PS: “In your prayerful consideration” – err what?

  11. joshuca says:

    Awesome news! Congrats!!

  12. Yay!! Congrats! And you were worried. 😉

  13. Alice says:

    Congrats!!! You go girl! All that hard work rewarded!!!

  14. Amazing — love that the emails came rolling in. That’s the best response from a potential employer I’ve ever seen. They absolutely love you! Congrats!

  15. Congratulations!! Very impressive about the emails back and forth!!!

  16. Pingback: Counter Offer «

  17. Revanche says:

    Quite the belated congratulations – you made quite the impression! I’ve never heard of that kind of response from any interviewing panel, academic or not, so that’s fantastic.

Leave a Reply

