Talk with the boss

I feel like my world is slowly falling apart and then being put back together again.

I talked to my boss today about the post I made the other day, talking about wanting to leave and my options career-wise, ect. It was a really good talk and I’m glad that I had it.

I explained to him exactly why I wanted to leave and how the work situation has not gotten better in the past year, ect.  We talked about possible alternatives and the career ramifications for me leaving early.

In the end, I know that while going somewhere else might seem a very nice escape from these problems for me right now, it isn’t the best thing for me to do career-wise. I’m in the middle of a very prestigious fellowship and just beginning to get some really exciting work published.

Talking to him about all of this made me feel a lot better about the idea of staying here longer, though I did tell him that I had an interview next week and that if the job seemed perfect I would probably take it.

Anyway, after the talk I sent him an email:

Boss,

Thanks again for talking with me today, I really appreciate it. I should have talked to you about these issues before. Thanks again. =)

~SS4BC

He responded with the following:

I hope that I was helpful- pls feel free to talk to me about any and all issues.  It’s the only way that I know what’s going on.

In my opinion, moving physically to [other boss]’s lab is a far better alternative than leaving altogether in the middle of your project.  You are going to be a very good candidate for any position you’d like during the upcoming job cycle.  It would be a shame if you jumped beforehand.  Both [other boss] and I have lot invested in you, and all three of us would like to see this through.

Boss

I feel better about this whole thing – if only I could get the social aspects of living here taken care of. Teaching provided a nice distraction from having a social life. At least it starts back up again in a few months.

8 Responses to Talk with the boss

  1. Okturn delMoniq says:

    NICE! I am glad that things are potentially getting better. I think that physically changing your working space is an excellent idea! =)

  2. lifeasapurse says:

    I’m glad to hear that this is a viable option for you and that talking to your boss yielded some insights that may make your work life more bearable. On the PF side, another year will really give you time to establish the savings account you now know you need and continue to pay down your CC debt. Yay SS4BC!

  3. eemusings says:

    Glad to hear, and it’s great that you can talk to your boss about these kind of things. Like Purse says, it’ll be great for your finances as well as your career.

  4. joshuca says:

    It is always nice to hear of supportive and understanding bosses. It is also good to hear the situation is getting better.

  5. Glad to see the talk turned out well. I’m always so afraid of making things more of a mess by opening my mouth!

  6. TMcImmy says:

    Yo,

    So, I’m now caught up. Glad you had that chat with your boss.

    Since when did Post-Docs become a 3.5 year endurance trial? I know that academic positions are in scarce supply. But overachievers can finish Grad school in 4 to 4.5 years… since when does a Post-Doc last that long?

  7. glad that the talk with your boss went well. sounds like both bosses really like you and want to keep investing in your future to make you stay too.

  8. This sounds like a win-win situation for everyone 🙂 Talking to our bosses is sometimes scary but in your case it showed you how much they appreciate you 🙂

Leave a Reply

