Cooking Fool

Yesterday I got hit with the desire to cook, badly.

This was probably precipitated by the fact that Saturday I went grocery shopping and spent around $100 total. That’s right, $100 for one person on groceries. To be fair, the great majority of it was on a case of “Two Buck Chuck” from Trader Joe’s – which runs $3/bottle here. (The Trader Joe’s is an hour and 15 minute drive away, so I only go very rarely)

Anyway, this is what I managed to make yesterday:

1) Pizza – Instead of using a marinara sauce I used cream of mushroom soup. I cooked up some chicken, yellow squash and orange bell pepper and mixed this with the mushroom soup. Then layered this on the pre-made pizza crust. Then topped it with mozzarella cheese. The toppings were good, but I got a whole wheat pizza crust. IT IS DISGUSTING. I bought two, so I don’t know what I’m going to do with the second one. But this crust is just terrible. I found myself a pizza crust recipe from my grandma that is good, so I’ll probably make up a few of these and freeze them until I want to make a pizza.

2) Mahi mahi with cous cous – I bought some marinated mahi mahi from Trader Joe’s and baked it. It is DELICIOUS. I also made some cous cous to put under the mahi mahi. I’m eating this as I write this post and let me tell you, it is fantastic.

3) Taco meat – I had some ground beef that needed to be cooked. I had thawed it and then didn’t use it. So I figured it was better to cook it up then have to throw it away. So I cooked it up as taco meat. I’ll use this either for a ground beef pizza or for tacos. We’ll see. I’m still really put off by the disgusting pizza crust. =P

4) Banana bread – 4 of my bananas were getting old, so it was time to make some banana bread. I used this recipe which I had made before. It is REALLY good.

5) Strawberry bread – Strawberries were on sale so I bought 2.5 lbs. Thus I decided that I would also make some strawberry bread. I used this recipe. I didn’t have any sour cream or yogurt, so I added a splash of soy milk. Also, I didn’t add the cinnamon and instead added extra vanilla. I never add nuts since I’m allergic to them. This turned our REALLY well. I may make another loaf later this week.

Tangentially related to food, I did an “official” weigh in today and I’m down 19 pounds since I started my “No Eating Out” challenge. The proof is in the pudding my friends… I may never eat out regularly again!

8 Responses to Cooking Fool

  1. Save the pizza crust for using in stuffing? Or make salad croutons?

  2. MPP says:

    Isn’t Trader Joes the BEST??

  3. Look at you cooking up a storm. Send over some of those vibes!

  4. Wow. sounds excellent. So sad about the pizza crust though. 😦

  5. Jessica says:

    I feel the need to defend my beloved wheat pizza dough from TJ’s…it’s my favorite! Sorry you didn’t like it though! :/

  6. Pingback: 345 of Not Eating Out: Weeks 14 and 15 «

Leave a Reply

