Weight Room?

So, I know this is kinda random, but for the past two weeks I’ve been seriously contemplating the following:

1) Selling my couch, rug, coffee table, television and stand

2) Turning my living room into a weight/work out room

Given that I’m planning on selling all of my living room crap when I move, I guess I’m thinking why not do it now and just use whatever money I get for it to buy a weight bench and some weights and maybe an abs ball.

I don’t use my TV to do anything except for watch movies, and I can do that just as well on my computer. And I figure having nothing else but a weight room in my living room would force me to just exercise when I’m bored rather than plug in a movie.

Man, I’m sure this is just a crazy idea.

But if a way to stop spending money is to stop going to stores, wouldn’t it then follow that a way to lose weight would be to get rid of activities that cause you to be complacent? Just a thought…. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this.

At the very least, if I start listing my items for sale now I have a long time to sell then – which means I may be able to hold out for the price that I want rather than “what I can get”.

5 Responses to Weight Room?

  1. Lillie says:

    You stated that would you be moving soon. Question: Is the place that you are moving to furnished so that there would not be a need for the couch, television, etc.? Too, will the new place have adequate space to accommodate the weight room equipment? If this is the case, it might be an option in the interim. I think you have to decide if you will be comfortable with the change. Me, I am a couch potato, so I like the idea of having access to it and the television once I come in the door.

  2. Jessie says:

    hmmm i find this a very interesting idea…..

  3. That is interesting. But, where will you host your guests? I doubt that many would like to sit on a dumbbell rack while waiting for you to get ready in the other room. Or maybe they would, which I guess makes them a keeper. LOL.

  4. I think the real key is how much you use your living room for day-to-day. If you only ever really go in there to watch TV and veg after work, it probably won’t matter very much to you. If you do use it for other things (or if you like to have people over), you just took those options away.

    Also, furniture is a pain to move, but I’d think a weight bench would be even worse! Maybe it would be worth it to wait until you got to San Diego & know your living situation?

  5. TMcImmy says:

    I agree with paranoid that moving a weight bench is a hassle. Free weights, not so much.

    I’m intrigued by the idea of selling off at least your television and its stand. I’m not sure how much you could even get for a non-flat panel these days, but that’s just going to be worse a year from now. Also, not having a television can free up how you arrange your furniture. Having a couch is nice for guests or whatever, but you could certainly shove it up against the wall when you’re not expecting anyone.

    For a long time we didn’t have a TV, instead using our computers as a DVD player/Streaming device. Unfortunately to hook up the Wii the choices were spend $200 for the converter or put an old TV in the room.

Leave a Reply

