Don’t Let Fear Stop You

As a follow up to yesterday’s post about making a decision, I want to talk about fear.

Sometimes the reason we don’t make a decision isn’t because we don’t know what to do, it is because we’re afraid to do it.

Afraid we might fail.

Afraid we won’t cut it.

Afraid we won’t like the outcome.

Afraid of the work it will take to accomplish our goals.

Afraid of change.

I have dealt with a lot of fear. Fear of applying for a faculty job because my ideas weren’t good enough. A fear of deciding if I should take a job because I’m not sure I’ll like the place. Fear of leaving relationships I knew in my heart I shouldn’t be in because I was afraid of being alone.

What I see most commonly, at least in the town that I live in, is people who are afraid of furthering their education. So I’ll use this as an example.

I live in a town where 60% of the population has a college degree (over the age of 25) and nearly all of them (okay, I haven’t talked to all of them, but the one’s I’ve talked to) seem to be deciding whether they should go to graduate school or not.

Now, from talking to my friend, we’ll call him “Jeff”. Jeff graduate from college 10 years ago. He is happy in his job. He describes his job, however, as being the equivalent of making fries at McDonald’s. He gets paid $60k, he has little responsibility, and no room for growth. Every day he wonders if he should go to graduate school – someday, according to him, he’d like to be manager at the McDonald’s of his career and not just a fry-boy. Jeff has been “deciding” whether he should do it for nearly 4 years now. When you talk to Jeff, it is obvious that he really wants to be manager. He just is afraid to start the process and afraid he might fail.

Let me throw this out there, if you have been “deciding” on whether you should do something or not for 4 years… you have already decided.

And the answer is that you WANT to do it, but you’re letting FEAR get in your way.

It is a lot easier to SAY you’re “deciding” if you want to do something and not face potential failure  than it is to DECIDE and just GO FOR IT.

You owe it to yourself to follow your dreams. You only have one life and one chance at all of this. Don’t let fear stop you from doing the things in your life that you want.

Greatness is done by people who are not afraid to be great

11 Responses to Don’t Let Fear Stop You

  1. Very apropos to my situation right now, SS4BC, thanks for the nice post!

  2. Lillie says:

    I have tossed this same message around for the last several months in reference to a goal that I would like to achieve. Over and over I have questioned “what am I afraid of?” I am at the point of knowing what I need to do, what I want to do, and now have gotten over the fear factor with a renewed determination that I will not let fear stop me. Thanks for the confirmation. This made my day.

  3. Jessie says:

    great post SS!

  4. Making a big change is scary. The unknown is even more scary. And clearly I’m a big wuss.

  5. eemusings says:

    Thanks for the inspiring post – I may be making career changes this year and one of my problems is a lack of confidence in my ability to think up ideas and perform well.

  6. monique says:

    A quote to go with your messages…

    Our Deepest Fear
    by Marianne Williamson(Most known as part of Nelson Mandela speech)

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

  7. Cut and pasted the final quote of your post, placed it into Word, blew it up a couple of sizes, print, and hung on my cubicle wall. Ok, fine, SS4BC, I’ll finish those essays for grad school, but only because you are inspiring me with these posts!

  8. Pingback: Link Love: I would like {want} a bike! | Move to Portugal

  9. Christina says:

    It’s always hard to get out of your comfort zone but if you’ll always be afraid of what’s out there…you will never grow, you will never achieve your full potential and most of all, you will miss so much about what living really is…great post…something to ponder about.

  10. Pingback: SS4BC – A Year In Summary «

Leave a Reply

