Family Reunion!

I got a message on Facebook a few months ago from my uncle asking me if I was interested in going to my Grandma’s (she lives near Yosemite) in August to celebrate his 50th birthday. I said I might be, and that we could have a double party because I turn 30 just two weeks before my uncle turns 50.

Apparently this idea took storm with my grandma, un-be-knownst to me.

I got an email from her yesterday asking me when I thought I would be coming in. To be honest, I didn’t know when my uncle would be there, so I asked her when he was planning to arrive.

She replies with something along the lines of: Well, your three uncles are showing up “then” – and the your step-dad will be here X dates – and your Dad will be here X&X – and your cousins then…. Wait… ALL my uncles? my step-dad? My Dad? My Dad isn’t even related…

And that is when I realized. This wasn’t a birthday party for me and my uncle anymore – this is a family reunion!

Now I need to get on the ball with this. My grandma has a small A-frame cabin in the middle of no where. There are 2 bedrooms and a loft. There is no way that all of us will be able to sit at the dining room table in this house. But we’ll love it because we’ll all try. =)

Apparently there is a tiny bed and breakfast down the road, so I may call and get prices. If less than $100/night I may reserve it. But considering that it is at the foothills of Yosemite in late July/early August I doubt it will be this inexpensive.

Now, normally a trip like this would send my blood pressure racing and my heart pumping a million miles per minute. But it isn’t. I’ve PLANNED for a trip in my yearly savings. Okay, so not specifically for THIS trip, but for a vacation. And I think this will be JUST the vacation I will spend the money on. I currently save $40/month towards travel. This means that I have up to $480 that I can spend. The airfare will take out about $250 of that. So getting a room at the B&B down the street will definitely be dependent on price. Hmmm… I may need to get a rental car as well. We’ll see about that.

Perhaps I should also consider just buying a tent and sleeping out side. She does live in the woods after-all. I bet my cousin would join me in that endeavor – especially if I had a blow up mattress. =)

7 Responses to Family Reunion!

  1. It does sound like fune! If you’re going in the summer, you can definitely camp out for sure (if it isn’t raining). How long are you planning on staying?

  2. Jessie says:

    oh fun! I love family…and camping…

  3. Airam says:

    Sounds like fun, the family part – not the camping part! I hope you’ll be able to make it.

  4. Your grandma’s house sounds amazing. Family reunions are always a fun time…so I’ve heard. I’ve actually never been to one since my family is kind of all over.

    • SS4BC says:

      My family is all over too. I’m in the Midwest, my grandma is in California, my uncle (who is turning 50) is in South Carolina. Everyone else is spread out between Cali and me. However, it seems like the past 5 years we’ve all gotten together at least every other year, which has been really nice. =)

  5. Sounds like fun! Camping would be fun too, and it would be easy camping in the backyard. Could still have meals and shower at yor grandmas. Nice that you have been planning for a vacation. “To grandmother’s house we go…”

Leave a Reply

