How People Spend Their Money

After reading Debt Ninja‘s post yesterday about people giving him crap about spending $4,000 on his honeymoon and thinking back to Krystal at GMBMFB and the outrage that people had over her buying a car. I have to wonder why people think it is their business to butt in to everyone else’s money.

Okay, now, I know that we are personal finance bloggers, and thus our spending habits are open to ridicule and scrutiny.

But look, these purchases have caused “outrage” where “outrage” needn’t exist (IMHO, of course).

I mean sheesh, it is Ninja’s HONEYMOON for crying out loud. And he isn’t even going in to debt to pay for it. Have you seen that boy’s savings account? It is ridiculous. He has the money to pay for his honeymoon and have tons left over, so really, where do people get off telling him not to?

Personal finance is very personal, and everyone’s priorities are different.

Just because I decided that I want to never again get credit for a car or a house, doesn’t mean that EVERYONE ELSE has to follow those rules. This is just childish. I’m not saying that everyone should agree with everyone else. But giving shit and being constructive are two very different things. You may not agree with his decision, and you may not even like it, but at the end of the day the decision is his and his alone (okay, maybe also Lady Ninja’s).

Sorry, it just irked me quite a bit that Ninja was getting slack for his choices, especially when he could afford them!

10 Responses to How People Spend Their Money

  1. Ninja says:

    Yeah, this might be your best post yet!!! Much love.

    p.s. your financial unredo was my favorite. you sound like you were an awesome sister!

  2. psychsarah says:

    Amen sista! I had the same thoughts when I read the comments on PDITF and GMBMFB. I wish people would remember that bloggers are real people, and if you wouldn’t say it to a friend or colleague, you shouldn’t type it into a comment box!

  3. eemusings says:

    Yeah, people are RIDICULOUS! They hold PF bloggers to such silly high standards. We’re people too!

  4. TeacHer says:

    I’m totally with you on this. PF blogging is PERSONAL!! We all value different things. What we all have in common is that we are conscious and thoughtful about our spending and plan for our futures, no matter what stage we’re at right now. But if I choose to spend $2000 on a trip to Europe and Jane Dough spends $2000 on a down-payment, neither of us is wrong. We just value different things. That’s what makes the world go ’round. I think we should be emphasizing our similarities rather than judging each other’s choices. Just sayin’.

  5. Sarah says:

    TeacHer-I am LOVING the “Jane Dough” 🙂

  6. Mike says:

    @TeacHer

    Totally agree that personal finance is PERSONAL.

    No one understands your financial situation better than you do.

    For example, if I buy a $40k car but I afford it by living in a tiny 300 sq ft. apartment, who is anyone to judge how I allocate my money.

    (Note – I do neither)

  7. SP says:

    I read ninja’s post before there were many comments — i’m surprised he got so much hassle!

    It is hard to watch people make flat out bad choices — but this is NOT one of those cases!

  8. absolutely. PF is all about making money choices that matters to you personally.

  9. Airam says:

    My thoughts exactly

  10. It’s not just spending choices I’ve found. Even lifestyle choices!

    When I guest posted for Well-Heeled, there were people who disliked my post. Not because of me or my writing style but because of how I chose to live my life! Seriously… Wassup with THAT?

Leave a Reply

