Lent and Teaching

I’m not Catholic. Nor am I really a practicing anything for that matter. I have Christian roots, and sometimes I even go to church, but I have long made peace with the nature of God (I could write books on my feelings about this… but this is a money blog, not a religion blog).

However, for those of you who do follow Lent, and you’re still curious about what you should give up. Consider not eating out. Cause I could sure use some blogging company. 😉

In other news… I turned down a teaching position at the community college for the summer. I was offered two classes that I had my pick of: one M/W from 9-noon and one T/Th 8-11am. There is no way that I could miss that much work twice a week, so I turned both of them down.

I told the chair to keep me in mind if an evening class opens up, but honestly, I’m really getting worn out this semester working a near full teaching load (I have 8 contact hours, my labmate who is starting a full time faculty position in the Fall will have 7, however “normal” loads would be 10-15 contact hours depending on the school). The point is, that working a full time job and teaching a near full load does not give a lot of time for much of anything else.

I have been failing miserably at this blog since the new semester started. I’ve been doing a piss poor job of keeping in contact with people. The only thing that isn’t miserable is the money situation. The extra hours means extra money, and I’m enjoying every last penny of my new found funds.

With the money habits I’ve established over the past year combined with my extra income I have TONS of money left over at the end of the month. I barely even need to check my account statement anymore, which is nice because I don’t hardly have any time to do so really…

However I definitely will admit that being TOO busy isn’t a problem I mind terribly. It beats going home every evening, sitting on my ass, and moping. =)

Also – did you know that if you spend all of your time working you don’t have a whole lot of time left to spend money doing other things? It is a scientific fact!

9 Responses to Lent and Teaching

  1. Jessie says:

    I wouldn’t worry so much about making sure you post every day. I was worried about that myself for a while – but sometimes, I just don’t have anything to say.

    • SS4BC says:

      My concern is less posting every day and more that the quality of the posts has decreased from well thought out posts to “here is my random thoughts today”. I don’t like that as much, and I doubt readers do as well. =)

      In any case, ya’ll will just have to deal with it for the time being until I have more time to devote to thinking about $$$.

  2. It’s difficult to juggle blog and life. Sometimes, life is more important (especially if it’s helping you reach your financial goals). I’ve decreased the numbers of posts I do weekly due to an increase in freelance work. Blog when you can, your readers will be here!

  3. eemusings says:

    Haha, so true! Either you have time or you have money. Never seem to have both at once. You’ll be able to breathe and enjoy it later on 🙂

  4. Revanche says:

    Random thoughts are fully acceptable. We all have that at some point (except for FB!) 😉

    But I have tested out your theorem over the past 10 years and I say that most evidence supports your hypothesis.

  5. lol. I’ve been keeping busy trying not to spend either. you know what else is a true scientific fact? now that I’m not spending, I have nothing to blog about! hahaha.

    well, look on the bright side, you’re making a lot of money. and that’s always good. and when you earned enough, you can treat yourself to a lil something. 😀

  6. You scientific fact is awesome! Please publish a paper on it.

  7. Dave says:

    Omgosh! I just decided a few days that I was going to give up eating out for Lent. I can’t wait to be $150-200 extra this coming month =]

  8. Pingback: February Numbers – WUZZAH! «

Leave a Reply

