Double Rent

I posted the other day that I somehow managed to pay my rent twice. (I pay my rent online, thankfully!)

The first thing I did when I realized this was to transfer money from my E-fund to my checking account, since I knew that I didn’t have enough in my bill paying account to cover two months of rent. (Further confirmation that I need to build in at least a one month buffer in this account for just this reason).

Then I knew I had two options:

1. Just let it go and not pay rent next month

2. Ask for a refund

I opted for mode number 2. Mainly because the people who manage my apartment are sneaky and retarded and would probably try to make me pay rent AGAIN in March. I thought it would be easier to avoid their snake-like ways.

They immediately sent me a check refund which I have yet to cash. I have been running around ragged since I got back. I’ll probably cash it sometimes before the end of the month. I should spend an hour or two this weekend getting my financial house back in order. Just like my apartment, my car, and my desk at work – my financial life is a mess right now. I’m not drowning like I have in the past, but I definitely don’t feel as comfortable with my monetary life as I used to.

It is strange. This level of not-knowingness used to be status quo for me. And now I feel like I’m lost without knowing where every penny of mine is. Are you guys the same? Do you go nuts to not be able to sit down with your bank accounts every week and fully examine what everything is and where it is going? I feel like a lost little puppy!

8 Responses to Double Rent

  1. eemusings says:

    YES! That is exactly how it makes me feel. You summed it up perfectly. Glad they sent you that refund check so promptly!

  2. Alicia says:

    I feel you! It makes me feel better knowing that everything is organized otherwise I worry myself sick over missing a bill or bouncing a check. Just 15 minutes a week to maintain everything and I sleep easier!

  3. Revanche says:

    Oh yes, I’ve reconciled myself to feeling out of touch with my finances for a week or so at time during the past 8 months because of my nomadism. (Yes, I made that up.) I hate it, so I’ve learned to work ahead on my bills at least a week or two coming up to any trip. Sometimes I pay ahead for nearly the entire month, or at least schedule payments and just make sure that transfers are pre-scheduled too.

    Then I make up for the disconnected feeling by logging into account aggregators everyday after I get back 🙂

  4. I would have asked for the extra rent money back, too — sure beats arguing with the rental office next month. Welcome back!

  5. Oh goodness, yes. Just having my accounts balanced makes me feel like I’m in control. Keeping up with the laundry also does it, but the money one works better.

  6. psychsarah says:

    I totally hear what you’re saying about feeling lost when you’re not on top of your finances. I can’t imagine going back to my old ways. It would just drive me mad. I didn’t look at our accounts while we were on vacation for two weeks last fall, and it drove me a bit batty. It’s kind of like how I grocery shop with a list now. I feel like there’s no point in going to the store unless I have my meals planned and my list made. There’s just no going back. I try to see this as a good thing 🙂

  7. I get a bit OCD with my money tracking process. I mean if I don’t check the accounts at least once a day, I might murder someone. See, a life can be saved as long as I set enough time to check my monies. I should mention that this only applies during the work week. During the weekend, I barely spend money and the markets are closed, so no need to check up on that!

  8. mo says:

    I go in and out of it. Mostly I am on top of things, but holidays and high days do mean I sometimes go astray and forget where I am. And that I am meant to be budgetting. I am a bit more used to it I guess. But I do know the feeling of somehow it all has left my control and needs a right good sort out. It can apply to the rest of my life too! The house is a mess, my clothes are a mess, my budgeting is a mess….. time to do a bit of a spring clean and haul it back into order!

Leave a Reply

