I Ate Out

One of my friends that I met while I was on vacation in the Netherlands in July was in Cleveland. You know, the one who just accepted an assistant professorship in Chemistry in Switzerland. He was meeting with some collaborators in Cleveland and since I live within driving distance, I decided to go visit him. Especially since I’d never been to Cleveland.

Since he was visiting from out of country and I was definitely far from home, we ate out both days I was there. I felt so guilty for it, but at the same time I knew that I had freebie days for just this reason. So Saturday and Sunday I ate out – every meal. Now it is Monday and back to the regular routine of life and cooking.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Going away for the weekend has a surreal feeling about it that makes me think about life. I went to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum and one of the quotes on the wall said something like “If you aren’t doing what you love, you’re wasting your time.” So of course I thought about whether I truly love what I do.

I believe that what I’m doing can help people. But not in a tangible “now” kind of way.

I’m not convinced I’m on the path to doing what I love. But when I think about it, I can’t think of anything else that I would “love” more. Which makes me realize even more that that feeling of love and accomplishment may not necessarily come from a fulfilling career – but from a truly fulfilling life.

3 Responses to I Ate Out

  1. eemusings says:

    I couldn’t agree more – I wouldn’t want to work at something I hated, but work is NOT the only thing in life.

  2. Pingback: Impromptu Road Trip! «

  3. Scrap the guilt it’s only useful if your going to change something. I’m not sure doing what you love is necessarily the best advice. No ones going to pay me to ride my bike? or people watch. I think it’s in the intersection of what you love and what your good at that you’ll find success

Leave a Reply

