Checking the Bank

I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I started my year long challenge of not eating out. In fact, to be perfectly honest, I wasn’t sure what I would gain or why I should do it. I just FELT like this was the challenge for me. I didn’t go in to it hoping to lose weight or to save money, I went into it for the pure challenge of seeing if I COULD do it.

One this, thus far, that I’ve noticed is that a lot of people don’t seem to understand it. Which, considering how little I really know WHY I’m doing it, is understandable. When I tell new people about it the first thing they try to do is find exceptions and loopholes, which I find a fascinating thing about humans. We always want to know what we  can get away with.

The other thing that has taken me by surprise is how little I check my bank accounts. I used to check it every day or at least every other day. But since I’m not eating out, I’m also spending less at a time. For instance, I don’t need to check my account every day because I haven’t SPENT anything on it in a week. When I logged on to ING today, I realized it was the first time I had checked my account in 2010. That’s 16 days of not looking! Not because I didn’t care, but because I haven’t spent enough to justify even looking.

This was a side effect that I didn’t consider when I started this challenge. I don’t WORRY about money as much because I’m not spending it as frequently!

I’m really interested to put together a total food expenditure for January and see how that compares to in month’s past. I have a feeling that I’ll still have spent the same amount, but it will be very interesting to do the math and find out for sure.

For those of your readers who are doing the 30 day no eating out challenge, have you noticed any difference in how you handle your money since beginning?

3 Responses to Checking the Bank

  1. WellHeeled says:

    I think it’s awesome you’re doing this challenge. Food is a big weakness of mine… but it’s just so good! And you’re doing The Shred. You’re a paragon of discipline these days!! 🙂

  2. Serendipity says:

    I’ve noticed a big change in the way my money is handled and the way its flowing out. I’m coming uo with way more no-spend days and I’ve noticed I’m losing weight as well. I’m thinking about keeping up with my no-eating out streak, for awhile anyways. Maybe until the end of the semester?

Leave a Reply

