No Eating Out Challenge – Donuts?

So, I’ve come across an interesting situation with my “no eating out challenge”. That is the matter of donuts.

Let me explain.

Each week someone in our lab brings donuts to group meeting. It rotates every week. Technically I guess we could bring something else, but since the Dunkin Donuts is just a block or so away, that tends to be what people get.

Next week is my week to bring donuts. And I have to bring breakfast, no doubt about that, but I’m not sure if this counts as eating out since it is kind of a job related expense.

I could technically even get the donuts in the grocery store, but it all amounts to the same thing, doesn’t it?

I’ll probably not even eat any of the donuts, either, since I’ll just be dropping them off for the meeting and then I’ll have to leave to go teach. But it is still going to an “eating out” establishment.

Dunno… this seems like a grey area to me… or perhaps I’m making it a grey area. I’m appreciate your thoughts on this one!

10 Responses to No Eating Out Challenge – Donuts?

  1. Job-related expense! You are expected to do this as part of your job. I don’t see it as a gray area at all.

  2. I’m pretty sure this doesn’t count as eating out. If you want to get technical about it, you could always count this as one of your ‘free’ days (don’t you have 20 this year?) that you allowed yourself, but I don’t think you need to do that. I think this is legit.

  3. TeacHer says:

    I don’t think this counts at all – I totally agree it’s a job-related expense.

  4. SS4BC says:

    Huh… well… apparently I was making a way bigger deal out of this than I should have!

  5. I agree with everyone else, this shouldn’t be counted as eating out 🙂

  6. TMcImmy says:

    This is definitely a “gray area”, especially assuming you eat the donuts when other people bring them in. If you generally abstain it’s much easier to write it off as “work related expense”.

    Still, I wouldn’t count it as eating out.

  7. I’d consider it work related and not count it as eating out. It’d be different if you just decided to bring some in to be nice.

    Of course, you could always bake something if you have the time and desire (like banana bread) and take it in. On the other hand, we are talking about Dunkin Donuts here…mmmm 🙂

    Stephanie

  8. I agree, if you’re expected to bring in the donuts, then it’s not really optional. I say don’t count it.

  9. It’s a gray area for sure. Couldn’t you bring something else though? I agree with one of the above posters. Baking is ALWAYS appreciated! But maybe you could find a DD coupon? There are sometimes some floating about.

Leave a Reply

