345 Days of No Eating Out: Week 1

Image Courtesy of Debt Ninja http://www.punchdebtintheface.com

Jan 1st (Day 1) – Ate oatmeal for breakfast and then chips and salsa for dinner. Not very exciting, but pretty tasty. =)

Jan 2nd (Day 2)- Ate an apple and sweet and sour egg drop soup for lunch. Left-over Pad Thai for dinner with the last of the Pfish food ice cream from NYE.

Jan 3rd – (Day 3) Poptart for breakfast/lunch. Chick pea curry with chicken and rice for dinner. Orange for a midnight snack.

Jan 4th – (Day 4) Poptart for breakfast. Left over chick pea curry for lunch. Chips and salsa for dinner.

Jan 5th – (Day 5) Apple and tea for breakfast. Left over Pad Thai for lunch. Enchiladas for dinner.

(Note: Today I started noticing all the fantastic places I couldn’t eat at. Mmmm Subway. Oh Arby’s! Heck I was even craving places I don’t LIKE – Burger King? It is only week 1, and I know it will only get harder before it gets better, but man did I want some Breadsticks from Fazoli’s today!)

Jan 6th (Day 6)- Left over enchiladas for lunch, egg drop soup for dinner

(Note: Labmates invited me to get lunch with them at a local bar. I turned down the food and said I’d show up thirty minutes later to get some beer. So far so good on dealing with temptation!)

Jan 7th (Day 7) – Poptart for lunch, chili for dinner

(Note: I didn’t go to work today – it is amazing how little I eat when I’m not doing anything. I didn’t eat the poptart until 3:30pm – and forced the chili in me a bit after 9:30pm. I couldn’t decide if staying at home all the time would make me really fat (I didn’t get out of bed all day except to take Jack out) or really thin (because if you don’t get up, it is hard to eat!). I’m not planning on testing the theory though. Okay, well maybe again on the 8th if this snow keeps up!)

As a side note, Serendipity and I have both noticed that not eating out has caused us to have a lot more “No Spend Days” than before. I’ve had 6 of the last 7 days be no-spend, and the one day was only because I went to the vet and doctor. So far, this challenge it really doing me a lot of good – extrapolate for an entire year and I’m a MILLIONAIRE! 😉

Thing that made me happy today: Doing absolutely nothing for an entire day. T’was magical!

16 Responses to 345 Days of No Eating Out: Week 1

  1. Eating out is definitely my biggest expenses. Even buying a coffee every few days adds up quick. I find that if I can avoid just buying a coffee, I have lots of NSDs.

    On a side note, that’s alot of poptarts you’re eating…. ^__^;

  2. Jessie says:

    You’re off to an awesome start!

  3. Great start! LOL on all the poptarts! I love poptarts, so I don’t buy them. My waist is already expanded to maximum capacity, lol.

  4. psychsarah says:

    You are off to a great start. I think you’ll get into the groove and stop noticing all the places you can’t eat (as in your first note above) and stop even considering them as options. I have no sweet clue where a Burger King is in my city because I haven’t eaten there in years. Ditto for McDonalds, Wendy’s, Subway… (I will hit Wendy’s or Subway when I’m out of town and can’t eat from home, but really, not to toot my own horn, but what I make to eat is usually tastier, definitely cheaper and definitely better for my health!)

  5. laura@mtp says:

    Great start, sarah is right you’ll soon stop noticing all the places to eat. You’ve inpsired me to take a packed lunch for my day trip to see my daughter in London tommorow; i hope she’s not expecting lunch lol 🙂

  6. mo says:

    Great start to very beneficial experiment! I think if you look into what actually goes into some of the things they sell you at burger joints etc you might start to have a different idea of what is tempting! Question – you eat a lot of chinese and thai – are these things you make yourself?
    We ate our a LOT over new year as we were away and travelling. Thats where I find it the hardest!

    • SS4BC says:

      I love asian food, so I do make them myself. I have some Thai, Chinese, Indian recipes that I love. =)

      My fav is a butter curry chicken. I’ll probably post the recipe to that at some point, because it is just DELICIOUS!

      • Revanche says:

        Oh please please post the recipe this week?? I just tried the Trader Joe’s version and it’s wonderful but I really want to make it myself.

  7. eemusings says:

    Girl, you eat NOTHING! How do you manage that? I’m constantly snacking on food. ALL. THE. TIME. (At my work computer, to make things worse.)

    Man, I think everyone would be shocked at how unhealthy I eat if I kept a food diary. Maybe that can be my Febraury challenge 😛

    • SS4BC says:

      So, I have been VERY diligent about writing everything down in this post as I eat it. And I couldn’t BELIEVE how little I was eating. I think part of it is that I knew ya’ll would read it and so that made me want to eat less. Who knows.

      I kinda felt intimidated about the judgements on what I eat (ie the poptarts or the extreme lack of veggies this week), but then I just decided to say “Fuck it”.

      However, not included in this is the Rockstars and the sodas. Maybe I should track those too starting today.

  8. TMcImmy says:

    I certainly eat less when I don’t eat out/don’t leave the house.

  9. Revanche says:

    Judgments? I’m fairly sure that all of us go through periods of terrible eating, too, so let the first consistent perfect health nut try to throw a stone. 🙂 What usually happens when I realize my lack of veggie-eating has become excessive, I’ll just start adding them again. No big deal.

    And let me save you the trouble of accidentally wasting a day on Burger King: I had to have some coming back from HNL because we didn’t have time to lunch before going to the airport. It Is Disgusting. And SO expensive for the crap you get! So it’s still a terrible “food” choice. If that helps. 🙂

    • SS4BC says:

      Yeah, I don’t like McDonald’s or Burger King at all.

      Three years ago I gave up fast food for an entire year, and except for a few select places at select times, I never have looked back.

      The food that I cook at home is so much better and so much more delicious!

      I did buy some veggies at the grocery store this week. So be expecting a few more in my menu next week. 😉

  10. MPP says:

    Wow you are doing awesome! I hope you update this weekly because I’m so excited to see your progress. So inspiring!

Leave a Reply

