Another Day… Another $250…

Today was an EXPENSIVE day.

First off, Jack has been feeling sick. He didn’t keep down any food yesterday and went from diarrhea to complete constipation. He slept in till 2pm on Sunday (ate) and then slept the rest of the day. This morning he didn’t want to wake up at all, but I made him get up so that we could go to the vet appointment.

$170 later at the vet… and he has 3 presciptions and hopefully will get better within the next two days. I also got scolded for allowing him to continue to eat sticks, so I stopped at Petco after work and picked up a gentle leader, some cat food, and litter box liners… another $54.

I have also had some flare-ups of my fantastic UTI. Just when you thought that was all over, right? (Here is part 1, part 2 and part 3 of that story…) So I tried a different clinic this time, one with a $25 copay instead of the $40 copay I was paying before. And lemme tell you, this place was SKETCHY. At no point while I was there did anyone ask me for a medical history. They did get my weight, height, blood pressure and heart rate. But didn’t ask about my history or anything. A nurse practitioner came in, I told him my history with my UTI and told him the drugs that I was on before. I then told him that I thought the second drug would be good, and he wrote me a prescription for it for 7 days (vs the normal 3) and said to take it until 3 and if I was better to stop and if not to finish the course.

Anyway… $25 for the copay… $4.52 for the prescription…

The entire time I was at the sketchy clinic people kept telling me I would be better off seeing my “primary care doctor”. And you know what, they were right. And actual, that is exactly what I tried to do.

I called 8 different primary care physicians in the morning seeing if any would take me in the next few days, and the soonest appointment I could get as a “new patient” was MARCH. MARCH. What the hell is wrong with health care if I want to see a physician that I can talk to about why I keep having these reoccurring UTIs and what I can do about it and I can’t get an appointment until MARCH?

And I asked the receptionist what I would do at this appointment in March, seeing as I probably wouldn’t be sick, and she said that all it was was a consultation to see if we would be a good “fit”. What the hell? This isn’t a gyno, this is a general practitioner. Why do I have to wait 2 months to go see a doctor who will see me when I have a cold or an ear infection or a urinary tract infection. (Can you tell I’m used to graduate student care where it is essential a walk-in clinic geared towards your needs? I miss it so much.)

I’m just generally annoyed by the whole ordeal. But I made the appointment. Next time I move, the first thing I’m going to do is set up new patient appointments. This has just been ridiculous.

Thing that made me happy today: Having a very productive and interesting meeting with my boss. My data looks really good, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

11 Responses to Another Day… Another $250…

  1. Jessie says:

    I hate the whole ‘fit’ meeting!! I have the same problem in my city… can’t find a doctor when your sick – have to have a ‘get to know you meeting’ WTF… get to know why I’m sick. Blah! I feel you. Hope you get better soon!

  2. In the previous city I was living in, my husband and I were in desperate need of getting regular physicals. It had been a few years since either of us had physicals and neither of us had found a doctor where we lived. We called around to a few places, many of which couldn’t fit us in for months, until we found a doctor’s office that was conveniently half a mile from where we lived and made appointments for a few days later.

    My husband had his appointment first; he had a back injury in high school that still bothers him and he has high blood pressure. He made his appointment first to test out the doctor. He wasn’t too thrilled, but said she seemed acceptable. I went two days after he did. I filled out the necessary paperwork, was brought back to a room where I had my height, weight, blood pressure, etc. checked out by a nurse, talked to the nurse about my paperwork, and I waited for the doctor. And waited. And waited. And waited. I was left by myself for about 45 minutes in this room until the nurse who talked to me came in to tell me this: “The doctor won’t see you because you have a pre-exisiting condition.” My pre-exisiting condition was gastritis due to stress. I wasted over an hour of my time to be told that a doctor wouldn’t see me, even though I made it clear on my paperwork that this was a problem that I had.

    It was infuriating. Fortunately we found an amazing doctor a few months later, and it still bums me out that we no longer live where did because that doctor was so awesome. But we managed to find a pretty decent doctor where we are now (especially since we currently have no health insurance). Good luck to you – I hope you and Jack get to feeling better. 🙂

  3. Airam says:

    co-sign missing the walk-in clinic mentality of school doctors…

  4. Annie says:

    Hi SS4BC! I sympathize with you because I’ve been having trouble with UTIs as well. I had 7 bladder infections during 2007 (like clockwork, every two months) and I always had to drag myself to emerg at 2am and “pee” every 10-15 mins. I had prescription after prescription (one of which I was allergic to, so that was a good thing to find out!) and got yeast infections from so many antibiotics. I haven’t had a UTI in 2 years now and I firmly believe it’s because I did a 6-wk candida diet (no sugar/dairy/yeast/wheat) that rebalanced everything; along with taking some pro-biotics. It’s a bit of a challenge to adjust to these things, but it might be something to think about – at least cutting down on sugar a bit. But do continue to go to the dr and get it looked at; these things can move into your kidneys and cause more serious problems if they aren’t taken care of. (my two cents of course!)

    Regardless, I do hope you and Jack are both better soon!

  5. Oh no… poor you and Jack 😦 Hope you feel better soon!!

  6. My sympathies. This whole mess is full of suck. It isn’t lost on me that our pets have better access to medical care than we do. 😦

  7. TMcImmy says:

    It’s funny, because people complained about student health, but for a lot of stuff it does extremely well. Yeah, it has the advantage of being mostly geared to the young and relatively healthy, although in my experience getting a referral was pretty easy.

    My mom is so spoiled in that she has been seeing the same primary care doctor since my older brother was born. He’s mostly retired these days but is still her “primary”, and she ends up seeing the doctors he hand picked to work for him. Oh, did I mention the clinic is about 1.5 miles from her house?

  8. The Biscuits says:

    Hi there, I stumbled across your blog while looking for blogs related to debt. I, too, have a cat and suffer from UTI’s! Oh yeah, and I have a mountain of debt 😦

    The thing that helps me the most to prevent and alleviate the discomfort of UTI’s is cranberry juice. A lot of it! As soon as I feel one coming on, I drink about 12 oz of cranberry juice (get the real stuff, not the cranberry juice cocktail). Native Americans would use cranberries to help with their urinary tract. Drink a glass every day and you should be good to go. I heard there’s also pills made out of cranberry extracts but I haven’t seen them at my drugstore. Juice is probably healthier anyway.

    Other things that have helped me (sorry to everyone else if this is TMI, but if you had an UTI you would totally understand) — changing your underwear often (I do this about 2-3 times a day), showering or washing your derriere every time you poop. Usually it’s bacteria (e coli) that is the source of the UTI’s.

    Good luck!

  9. Pingback: 345 Days of No Eating Out: Week 1 «

  10. Pingback: Doctors, Doctors, Everywhere «

Leave a Reply

