December Summary

Since I’ve reset my sidebars, I wanted to have a post to archive how close I got to achieving my 2009 goals.

Here is how my side bars ended up as of December 31st, 2009:

My 2009 Goals:

1) Reduce debt from $16,000 to $12,000.

2) Grow emergency fund to $1,200.

3) Eliminate all other personal debt.

_

Credit Card Debt

Initial Debt: $16,000

Current Debt: $12,631

Goal for 2009: $12,000

84%

_

Emergency Fund

Goal: $1,200

Starting Amount: $13

Current Amount: $998

Met as of 11/30/2009

Unmet 12/15/2009

83%

_

Student Loan

Initial Debt: $17,000

Current Debt: $15,157

Goal for 2009: $15,000

92%

_

Other Debt

Initial Debt: $2,285

Current Debt: $0

Paid off as of 08/01/2009

100%

_

Extra December Income

Initial Amount: $0

Goal: $1,000

Current Amount: $1,316

131%

_

I ended up the year completing only 1 of my 3 goals. I eliminated all of my miscellaneous consumer debt (my balance on my Sony credit card, my Express card and my Limited card). I did get my E-fund up to $1,200 – but had to use it for my car repairs in December. I got very close to my credit card debt goal. I missed it only because I kinda just made up a number when I made the goal. I didn’t do any planning and just picked a number that seemed good. This year I’ve given it much more thought and really believe that I’ll get down to $0 debt by December 31st, 2010.

I did make $1,316 in extra income in December – which is INCREDIBLE – and $300 over my $1,000 extra income goal for the month.

Today is Day 1 of my 2010 Challenge of not eating out for a year. Thinking about getting a Starbucks this morning made me realize how long this year may really be. I am excited and scared for this challenge. I’m excited about the change that it might make, but scared that I might not be able to make it.

Thing that made me happy today: a fixed vacuum. Grossed out, but exceptionally happy.

2 Responses to December Summary

  1. That eating out challenge DOES sound scary. But you’ll do it! Just take it one day (… or meal) at a time!! I can’t wait to see you succeed!! 🙂

  2. unavocis says:

    This is great! I just started my blog, which is a mix of many topics, but one of the main reasons I started it was to help myself get out out of cc debt. Seeing your progress and info layout like this was very inspiring. I will be posting some of my financial stats in the coming weeks and look forward to continue reading your blog in 2010!

Leave a Reply

