Book Lustings…

I went to Borders today with my dad. He picked up two books – and pointed at the book I got him for Christmas and said “Man, that’s on my Christmas list” – I smiled smugly. Knowing I had pre-ordered the book for him in September. Go me for knowing my dad! =)

Anyway, I saw a couple of books that I kinda wanted to get (clicking on the images will take you to their Amazon.com pages):

Fierce Style: How to Be Your Most Fabulous Self

I love Christian. And the book was really fun to flip through. I am very tempted to buy this from Amazon. I may use my Swagbucks to get it. Yeah… I’m about 80% positive I’ll get this. I love that the reviews all show how empowered the women were about fashion after reading the book. I’m so unconfident about fashion that I could use a dose of that for sure!

Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters

I love the idea of these books, both this one and “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”. Just read the excerpt from the back cover:

Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters expands the original text of the beloved Jane Austen novel with all-new scenes of giant lobsters, rampaging octopi, two-headed sea serpents, and other biological monstrosities. As our story opens, the Dashwood sisters are evicted from their childhood home and sent to live on a mysterious island full of savage creatures and dark secrets. While sensible Elinor falls in love with Edward Ferrars, her romantic sister Marianne is courted by both the handsome Willoughby and the hideous man-monster Colonel Brandon. Can the Dashwood sisters triumph over meddlesome matriarchs and unscrupulous rogues to find true love? Or will they fall prey to the tentacles that are forever snapping at their heels? This masterful portrait of Regency England blends Jane Austen’s biting social commentary with ultraviolent depictions of sea monsters biting. It’s survival of the fittest—and only the swiftest swimmers will find true love!

I love Jane Austen – probably one of my favorite movies is Pride and Prejudice with Kiera Knightly.

I’m just a huge fan of period fiction, especially when mixed with zombies or sea monsters – who wouldn’t love that?

I’m just so thankful that with Swagbucks I can order all the books I want for FREE! Also, I checked my library and they have the Pride and Prejudice and Zombies book. SWEET!

I’m thinking of making myself a reading list for 2010 – or maybe a reading goal. What good books have you read recently or would like to read? I need some recommendations!

6 Responses to Book Lustings…

  1. Serendipity says:

    I really liked SuperFreakonmics, Pride Prejudice and Zombies and The Boelyn Inheritance as of lately. I looove to read.

  2. I enjoyed Magic Burns, book 1 of a series of (so far) three in the”ass kicking paranormal heroines with a dash of romance thrown in series” genre. Also in that genre, I enjoyed Dead Witch Walking and Moon Called. Valor’s Choice puts the ass kicking heroine in a science fiction setting.

    His Majesty’s Dragon is book one in a series which imagines dragons in the Napoleonic wars.

    And of course, you could always read classics like The Moon is a Harsh Mistress or The Shattered Chain, if you’ve missed them before.

  3. I want to read Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert, but I still haven’t finished Eat, Pray, Love. Yes, I’ve been under a rock for the past three years. But next year, I’m committed to reading more, so hopefully I’llget around to those two.

  4. Forest says:

    This is the book/Christmas list I sent my parents this year:
    – Problogger by Darren Rowse
    – Escape from Cubicle Nation by Pamela Slim
    – Trust Agents by Chris Brogan
    – Crush It by Gary Vaynerchuk
    – The Amateur Spy by Dan Fesperman
    – What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell
    – Letters from the Country by Carol Bly
    – Necessity of Empty Places by Gruchow
    – All Marketers are Liars by Seth Godin

    Depending on what I get, I’ll let you know how they are. Also, per my recent post, East of Eden by Steinbeck was the best book I read all year.

  5. Courtney says:

    Wesley the Owl. It sounds like a kid’s book, but it isn’t!

  6. Pingback: Fierce Style «

Leave a Reply

