Wait a minute! I DON’T want that?!

It struck me like a ton of bricks the other day at lunch.

One of my coworkers was discussing his new elliptical machine and him and his girlfriend (also my coworker) bought. Oh yes, and the TV they got to go with it. Gotta have the TV, right?

And another one of my coworkers then started talking about how he just bought a new TV – 60″ flat-screen I think?.

The old SS4BC, you know, the one before I started to get rid of all of this debt… the old SS4BC would have been salivating. “A new elliptical machine? How much did that cost? Do they offer financing? I wonder if I can get one? What size screen on the TV? Do they have store cards? I want one! I want one!”

And I realized something – I’ve CHANGED.

Sure, I still want stuff. Sure I still have wish lists of things I’d like. But I want to have/do things that I LOVE – not just things to keep up with everyone else’s things.

I’m not lusting after what the Jones’ have anymore. I know I can’t afford that elliptical machine. Nor do I need a new TV.

And what STRUCK ME as they were talking about their new gadgets and gizmos wasn’t what I felt – but contrary – the lack of feeling. I couldn’t have cared less. It was as if I had a shield around me protecting me from their consumerism. And that shield was my dedication to being financially secure, getting rid of this debt, and only buying things I’ve planned for and saved up for and have the MONEY for. (Side note: Can anyone else tell from this last paragraph that I just stayed up all night finishing Breaking Dawn?)

And there you have it – each of these tiny baby steps I take each day actually have netted a change – not yet a full monetary change, but a mind-set change. And I think that is FAR more important.

19 Responses to Wait a minute! I DON’T want that?!

  1. psychsarah says:

    It’s so neat that you noticed that change. I’m with you-the mindset change is way more important-without it you’d just go back to old habits. πŸ™‚

  2. MPP says:

    I know exactly what you mean! I’m that way when I see people go crazy buying shoes and clothes and stuff. I mean, there’s still a tiny part of me that wishes I had those things, but more of me thanks myself for not giving into my desires because I’m much better off without all that junk and more in my bank account.

    From a devoted reader over the past year, I just want you to know that I can SEE the change in you! I think the turning point was your credit card crisis in August. It’s really cool to be a witness of this and it makes me excited for all the changes that you’re making. Alright, sorry to be all sentimental, but I’m just so proud!

  3. I’m seeing that change in myself a little bit too. It’s kind of cool. We’re growing as people! *Wipes away single tear.* πŸ˜‰

  4. Jessie says:

    What an awesome realization!! It’s pretty great that total shift in mind set!

  5. I too, am finding that I don’t really want the things others have anymore. It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?

  6. That’s awesome, good job πŸ™‚
    I wonder how in debt those Jones’ are…

  7. It’s funny how our mindset changes when we focus more on our finances. I stillwant things, I still sometimes am envious, but the need to have everything right now just isn’t there anymore.

    And the mindset changes and the financial health seem to feed on each other until they create a behemoth savings account. Or at least that’s what I hope!

  8. TeacHer says:

    I know, the first time I felt that way, it was….AMAZING! Now I sometimes think my protective wall is a little TOO strong and I worry too much about money, but that’s another story.

    I still amaze myself when I throw magazines into the recycle bin without even flipping through.

  9. TeacHer says:

    ***totally meant catalogues. I read my magazines cover-to-cover!

  10. Airam says:

    That’s awesome and you’re so right a mindset change is more than half the battle!!!

  11. Keeping up with the Joneses is a huge problem in our society.

    Interestingly, I just finished the book, Stop Acting Rich by Thomas Stanley. This book is dedicated to society’s portrayal of what rich looks like.

    One of the best chapters in the book was the chapter on cars. The majority of millionaires drive a Toyotas and Hondas……………………………used!

  12. I was always frugal to begin with — in this kind of situation, my response (in my head) would have been, “Wow, how much did that cost you? Did you really need that stuff? Did you put it on a credit card?” LOL

  13. Revanche says:

    I love this feeling of Not Needing Things – don’t you feel more at peace? It’s nice to enjoy little wants, but there’s just such a nice fuzzy feeling to knowing that you’re not desperately wanting anything. Just lovely!

  14. mo says:

    I am just wonder what the *** and eliptical machine is! WHat is it? Goes to show I don’t want one. Currently I want a pair of wellington boots. Is that too British? Oh and some slippers. I must be getting old….

    But seriously, it is good to have the mindset change. For me I loved the whole your money or your life thing. And experience over stuff. And the whole idea of what this stuff is REALLY costing you. Am a total convert. Its funny but I feel really really rich these days.

    • SS4BC says:

      I’m actually reading your money your life right now – I’m still at the very beginning but I really love the writing. I feel like each page brings about a new “ah ha!” moment for me. =)

  15. Pingback: When Is Your Financial Birthday? «

  16. Red says:

    Right on! A lot of people look at me like I’m crazy when I talk about how I haven’t bought clothes in forever or only spend X amount of money on entertainment per month. But it’s been a LONG TIME since I’ve felt deprived. I mean, in the very beginning, I felt a little down about selling some of my stuff – mostly because I had this or that forever, not because I actually put the stuff to good use. But now? I don’t even think about it. My coworkers buying campers or new vehicles doesn’t make me think, “Ohhh! I want to be in debt just like them!” Instead, I’m sitting at my desk thinking, “Ohhhh! I can’t wait to go to the library and rent some movies FO FREE today!” lol I feel like a loser for being that excited about the library, but there it is. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

