Small Steps for Big Health

If you can’t tell already, I’m a big fan of small steps.

I think that making small incremental changes to your habits can lead to large results. Some people prefer the “cold turkey” approach of settling their finances and losing weight and stopping smoking. I’m more of  a person who believes that it is easier to start or stop small habits for a lifetime than it is to change your entire life in one day.

I’ve ramped up my debt repayment from $300/month to $1000/month using small steps to get my financial life in order. I haven’t been so diligent about listing them, but they have been small – and often times reactionary.

I was planning in 2010 to start a new chapter of my “Small Steps for Big Change” blog by having a new “thing” each month that I change about my overall health. It takes about 30 days to start or stop a habit, so I figured each month would be a new goal. I’ve done variations of this technique in the past that have been very successful, but this time the plan will be a little bit more involved because instead of doing some gimmicky resolution for a year, I want to build a lifestyle for myself.

While I do have weight issues, and sure, I would like to lose between 20-25lbs, the goal for me isn’t losing the weight as much as it is developing a healthy lifestyle.

So we’ll call this segment of my blog “Small Steps for Big Health”. I’ll be exploring each month a new facet of my life that I want to change, and the ramifications that making this change lifelong will have on my overall health. I would like to encourage each of you who know that you want a healthier life style, but are not sure what you want to do to achieve it, to follow me in my journey. The goal isn’t weight loss, the goal is to take a year to develop simple habits that will allow us a healthy lifestyle – and hopefully in the process to shed some pounds. 😉

While I was planning on starting January 2010 – I’ve decided that there is no time like the present to get going. So I’ll start formulating my plan this weekend and I will begin December 1st.  You’re welcome to join me at any point you’d like – whether that be Month 1 or Month 10 – each will be simple steps that we’ll take together to be healthier (and hopefully happier) everyday.

8 Responses to Small Steps for Big Health

  1. Carrie says:

    Ohhh cool!! I’m a huge health nut so I’m looking forward to this section!! Good luck on your journey!

  2. eemusings says:

    What a great idea – looking forward to it! Maybe you can give me the inspiration I need to start up some sort of workout routine. Now that it’s coming into summer, there’s really no excuse. I should be able to manage at least one run a week. I’m the opposite of Carrie – not really a health nut and hate exercise 😦

  3. Jessie says:

    I’m really looking forward to reading your small steps for big health! I hope I will be able to make some great changes right along with you!

  4. Stephanie says:

    I’d like to join in on your journey to a healthier life! I think I sometimes start habits, but then other things get in the way. We’ll all get healthier together!

  5. Will Smith one said that he doesn’t like making New Years’ Resolutions because he doesn’t believe you should wait to change; you should just do it. Good for you for starting immediately. I’m right there with you. I want to start incorporating exercise into my life. I don’t need to lose weight or anything. I just want to be more active and just healthier. First step? Getting over the expensive cost of a gym in NYC. 2nd step? Actually going after work. I’ll keep you posted.

  6. Pingback: SS4BH: Month 1 – Go The Extra Mile! « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

