Saturday – “The Complete Tightwad Gazetter” (at work)

I’m currently at work right now. I’m not sure how long I’ll be here, but probably until around 4 or 5pm. I am working on a project that requires me to take over one of our most used pieces of equipment, so rather than blocking out 3-4 days during the work week I opted to do Friday-Monday. I’m trying to be a thoughtful coworker, I really am. =)

I spent a good deal of time last night reading The Complete Tightwad Gazette by Amy Dacyczyn. It has some really good little articles in it that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading. I got through about 200 pages between last night and this morning (of its nearly 1000 pages!) It isn’t a regular book that you can just read straight from beginning to end, it is more just 5-10 paragraph thoughts on being a tightwad.

There was a few articles that really caught my attention about dating and being a tightwad. They were quite illuminating to me. I’d like to go into more detail about the aspects of them that I appreciated, but I think it will be better as a post at a later time.

The Tightwad Gazette is really great if you’re busy, because you can keep it beside your bed and only read as much or as little as you want. This is great for me because sometimes I get into bed completely exhausted, but I still want to read a page or two. With the way that the book is set up this is VERY simple to do.

I got some great ideas for Christmas shopping, cooking food, and some general ideas of how I’d like my life to be in the future. Also, I got the book from the library – which I’m sure every tightwad would approve of! As I go through the book further I’m sure you’ll see a lot of ideas on this blog that were influenced by the book. Should be a fun right for the next few weeks while I have the book. =D

Leave a Reply

