WOO HOO!!!!

I just got this email from the chair of the department at the community college I’m teaching at part time:

“SS4BC,

Thanks for your help! I truly appreciate it!

As for next semester, I would like you to teach a 106 (Gen Chem II lab) in the evenings next semester (I think Wed). Does that sound interesting to you? Also, would you be interested in teaching a morning class? (Maybe T Th 8-10) I have students wanting 101 but I won’t add another section until I have an instructor? Let me know. we hadn’t talked about  how many hours you wanted to teach. I will also work on physical science next week.

Thanks again!
Steve”

YEAH!!! Essentially, I just have to tell him how many hours I want to teach per week and that is how many hours I’ll get (within reason, I’m sure). I’m also STOKED that I’ll get to teach a Chemistry class! The class I’m teaching now is only 1/3 chemistry – which after I get through that part isn’t as fun for me. I don’t mind teaching it because I love teaching, however being able to teach a FULL Chemistry class (like the 101 he mentions in the email) would be my dream! I’ve never taught my own Chem 101 – just helped. So I’m so excited for the opportunity!

I emailed him back and told him that I would definitely take the Gen Chem II Lab on Wednesday evenings (these are 4 hours long). That any evening was good for me to teach. Then I told him that I have my lab meeting on Tuesday mornings from 8:30 – 10:30, so a T/Th morning class wouldn’t work for me. (sad) However, I have a feeling that since they have students wanting the class that they will be able to move it to fit my schedule.

Then I told him that I would feel comfortable teaching up to 8-10 classroom hours per week. Currently I’m teaching 4 classroom hours – so that would be two classes per week (Or, ~$900/month). I would have to drop both of my side tutoring gigs if I did teach two classes, but I’m totally okay with that.

Teaching at the community college is PERFECT for me because I get another teaching reference, I get teaching experience when I go to apply for jobs, and it pays great money. I can’t ask for more from a side job – one that boosts my CV and pays me for it – it is truly the best of both worlds and I’m SO GLAD that I finally got my foot in the door!

5 Responses to WOO HOO!!!!

  1. MPP says:

    That is great news indeed!!! I’m so happy for you and it’s so exciting to read daily updates on how things are turning around financially. 🙂 Yay!

  2. Carrie says:

    OMG, that’s exciting!!! I think it’s so cool that you have a teaching gig on the side… 🙂

    • SS4BC says:

      I think it is pretty cool, too!

      In my ideal world I would have one job that allows me to do both research (my full time job) and teaching (my part time job) and pays me at least $15,000 more per year than I have now – but until then I’m content having both independently. =)

  3. meinmillions says:

    Great news! Sounds like they like you a lot over there!

  4. Pingback: Excellent Teaching News! « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

