Bed Times

I’ve noticed as I’ve been working more trying to get more money that my sleep schedule has started to go hay-wire. And I end up some mornings waking up at 7am and other mornings at 10am. And going to sleep anywhere between 11pm and 2am. It has gotten ridiculous and I can tell my brain isn’t functioning at 100% because of the sporadicness  of my sleep schedule.

So I’ve been trying the past few nights to go to bed by 11pm so I can sleep until 7am and get my full 8 hours of sleep. However…. as I write this it is currently 11:05 and I still have to take the dog out and shut down shop for the night.

Hmmmm… do you guys have a bed time for yourself? I need to really get myself on a schedule, the variability is starting to drive me nuts!

 

P.S. Those are my kitties (Tofu and Chai) laying in bed with me whilst I read. =)

14 Responses to Bed Times

  1. mo says:

    the best advice I heard was to start getting up at the same time every day regardless of when you go to bed. this sorts things out pretty quickly as you start to really want to go to bed early enough every night. best of luck.

    • SS4BC says:

      Ugh.. I have no desire to be up every morning at the time I have to wake up for my ONE early morning a week. For heavens sake, the SUN doesn’t even want to be up that early!

  2. MPP says:

    Aw, sweet cats. 🙂

    I try to make a point to go to sleep no later than 11 and have found that coming to my bedroom at 9:45 helps wind me down. I usually get into bed and either talk to J or watch a sitcom on netflix or read in bed. That always makes me sleepy and gets me ready for sleep. I love sleeping and feeling rested, so getting 7+ hours a night is pretty important and I can tell a difference when I haven’t had a lot of sleep.

    You seem so busy! The key is to make sure you have a routine and stick with it. But that’s the answer to anything I suppose. 😉 Good luck!

  3. I’ve been trying to go to be at 11… or at least be in my bed by 11. So far it’s been an EPIC FAIL. I’m pretty regular about getting up at the same time every morning, but I’m always sleepy. I’m such a night person!!!

    • SS4BC says:

      Hahaha… my problem is I’m neither a night or a morning person. I’m more of a 11am – 7pm kind of person. I guess that would make me a “day person.” =)

  4. Ten Bucks says:

    I am a huge fan of bedtimes. I try to at least be in bed by 10pm every night, even if I’m not ready to sleep. Having to get up at 5:30am makes it a little easier, because usually I’m exhausted by then anyway. Routine is very helpful and it will make your days (and nights) easier, I promise.

  5. SP says:

    I have been shooting for in bed by 9:30, asleep around 10. I’ve been getting up at 5:30ish for fitness bootcamp. But my weekends ALWAYS screw it up. I’m sorry, i’m not getting up at 5:30 on a Sunday if I went out on Saturday!

    Hard!

    • SS4BC says:

      Exactly! My once a week early morning I have to wake up about 2 hours before I would like to regularly. I can’t do that every morning, but it seems like I may have to if I want a regular sleep schedule!

  6. Carrie says:

    Oh my gosh, Lloyd and I are SO old. During the week, we are actually laying in bed at like 9pm and usually go to sleep at 10pm (sometimes 9:30 like last night!), but we’re up at 5:45 or 6AM. I HAVE to have 8 hours or I’m a zombie!! LOL

  7. Jessie says:

    We’re usually in bed around 11pm (though sometimes it’s quite late) and up around 6am.. but today I slept in until 8pm!!! It was a pretty tragic morning.

  8. Revanche says:

    Erm, well when I had a JOB I expected to be in bed by 10, and up at 5:30 every morning, but totally slept in on weekends. Weekends didn’t usually screw me up because I’d try to be mindful on Sundays. Now, though, as I just blogged this am, I’m just all over the place. Lately I’ve only been sleeping between 3am-11am or even worse, 6am to noon. It’s exhausting trying to sleep!

  9. TeacHer says:

    I get up at 5 am, so if I’m not in bed by 10 at the latest, I’m worthless.

  10. Pingback: Excellent Teaching News! « Small Steps for Big Change

Leave a Reply

