What I’m Doing with my “Fun Fund”

Remeber from my budget that any money that I make tutoring is mine to use as I please – and thus far this month I’ve made $155 from tutoring. This is my “fun fund” to pay for any really fun things that I want to do – and Mr. Cousin and I have decided the fun thing that we want to do in November – Go see a hockey game!!!

I haven’t been to one since I lived in San Diego (well, not an NHL that is, I’ve been to two minor league games – one in Indianapolis and another in Chicago), so we’re driving to Columbus to see the Columbus Blue Jackets play my “home team” the Anaheim Ducks. I’ll be sporting my Duck’s jersey to be sure. We agreed that I would buy the tickets for the game and he would get the hotel room – a pretty fair trade off.

I had a lot of trouble with the tickets because I HATE buying things through Ticketmaster. I think it is ridiculous that I have to NOT ONLY pay a “convenience fee” per ticket but ALSO a service charger per order. When I was adding these things up I would end up paying $100 for two $40 tickets. That’s just bullsh*t as far as I’m concerned.

This is also Mr. Cousin‘s first hockey game, so I wanted to get DECENT tickets. Not in front of the glass or anything, but GOOD tickets. I prefer sitting center ice because I think it is better to watch the entire game. And I want ones that were in the upper section of the arena but not so far up you have to squint to see the puck.

After looking at eBay (and making a bid and PROMPTLY getting bid out of my pricerange), and Craigslist (they sold the tickets a few minutes before I emailed) and all sorts of ticket sites – after a week of searching I found the tickets that I wanted on the ticket exchange through the Blue Jacket’s website.

They’re center ice. Upper section. Third row. For $50/each. And I only had to pay a $1.75/ticket reissuing fee. So none of the “convenience” charges of Ticketmaster. So I ended up getting much better seats for the same price.

I’m SO excited about the game – and glad that my hard work with tutoring is paying off in such a nice way. =)

11 Responses to What I’m Doing with my “Fun Fund”

  1. Sounds like a blast:)

  2. TMcImmy says:

    Yeah, ticketmaster blows.

    I think it’s awesome that teams provide ticket exchanges as a service to their season ticket holders. It prevents the stadium from being half empty and lets the ticket holder get some money back for games they can’t go to.

  3. Ticketmaster is a rip-off. Sounds like you got a great deal!! I am unfortunately a leaf fan and thus it is nearly impossible to get any sort of ticket under $80 each…even in the nosebleed sections. Have fun at the game!! Go Ducks!

    • SS4BC says:

      A Leafs fan huh?

      Then you may be jealous of my autographed picture from Bryan McCabe

      “Dear SS4BC, all the best. Love, Bryan” =D

      One of my dad’s girlfriend’s parents live across the street from him – so I asked her to get it for me – much to my surprise she did, even after they broke up. I was THRILLED!

  4. Jessie says:

    I bet you’ll have a fantastic time!!

    Do you have money set aside for beer and arena food?

    • SS4BC says:

      I will probably use more of my fun money for this. I just got an email from another girl today asking for a few hours of tutoring between now and her exam on Tuesday, so getting $20-30 for food shouldn’t be an issue. =)

  5. I am extremely jealous! He doesn’t play for them any longer, but I thought he was cute when he did play =)

    • SS4BC says:

      My friend Erin had a HUGE crush on him, so once I found out I could get his autograph I jumped at the opportunity just to show it off to her. 😉

      If I was a good friend I probably would have instead gotten it to say her name – but I didn’t think I was actually going to get the autograph!

  6. Pingback: Anti-Procrastination Weekend « Small Steps for Big Change

  7. Pingback: Impromptu Road Trip! «

Leave a Reply

