Once a Year Cost – The Dog

So once a year I have to update my dog’s shots. Tomorrow is that day. I go to an at-cost clinic an hour away. It takes a little more time, but it is so worth the money. For a 5-in1 vaccine, rabies, bordetella, heart worm test, 6-month supply of heart worm prevention medicine and 6 months of flea and tick medicine it will run me $167.  It would cost me just $150 for the vaccines at a veterinary hospital, plus the vet visit fee ($40 at the vet I sometimes go to in town),  then the cost of the heart worm and flea and tick medicine on top of that – so I’m getting a pretty good deal.

Unfortunately it isn’t a small amount of money, but it is a once a year cost. Well, except for the heart worm and flea and tick medicine which I’ll need to get more of in six months.

I really need to start saving money every month so that this isn’t such a “shocker” of an expense next year. $20/month should do it, and then some.

Oh yes, and here is a picture of the cute pup a year ago today, just for the record.

DSC02822

9 Responses to Once a Year Cost – The Dog

  1. Very cute puppy!!!

    You are lucky that you could go one year between appointments… I figure my dog cost me thousands in his short 8 years on earth… good plan to set money aside monthly 🙂

  2. In Debt says:

    What a sweet puppy!!!

    I’ve always been a big believer in “escrowing” the annual expenses on a monthly basis so there are no shocks to the budget. Even as far in debt as I am, I still send 1/12 of estimated expenses for things like insurance bills, Christmas, car tags and yes, vet bills.

    • SS4BC says:

      Yeah, I did that for the last 3 years of graduate school. I put away $10-40/month in envelopes for pet expenses, car registration, gifts (since they always seem to come in clumps), Christmas, vacation, car maintanence, ect. However, since I’ve moved in the midwest I’ve stopped. I think I need to get back into that habit again for sure!

  3. Jessie says:

    I’m so jelous! Jordan and I ache for a dog of our own, but the landlord won’t budge on that.

  4. Jessie says:

    I’m so jelous! Jordan and I ache for a dog of our own, but the landlord won’t budge on that! I just have to make do with fishtanks.

  5. Jessie says:

    whoops not sure why that posted twice- sorry about that

  6. TeacHer says:

    I’m about to write a very rant-y post about my experience at the vet, so I’m interested in some more details about the at-cost clinic. I’ve never heard of those before…

    • SS4BC says:

      I hadn’t either until I got the dog – my cats all have just been to Banfield at Petsmart. =)

      Essentially most cities have low-cost spay and neuter clinics, if you google your town + low cost spay and neuter I’m positive that something will come up. And most of these clinics usually will have one day a month a a few days a week where they will do a “wellness” clinic, so that you can get your animals the vaccinations at-cost or just slightly above. I had to wait for about an hour to see the vet, but I also didn’t have to pay a whole lot compared to what I would have had to pay at the vet. You can’t take them there for anything BUT vaccines, so you still need a regular vet for fecal examinations and teeth cleanings and a yearly “check up” to make sure that everything is okay, but getting the vaccinations without the mark-up of the vet is VERY nice. =D

  7. MPP says:

    Awwww he’s sooo cute! I cannot wait until I get one of my own!

Leave a Reply

