Money: A Goal or Tool?

I was doing some blog browsing and came across this post in Consumerism Commentary.

For those of you too lazy to click, the post is talking about how money shouldn’t be the goal – as money is a tool – but rather a means to goals. The author points out in the article:

The accumulation of money is not a destination. I am not aiming for any particular measure of financial worth, such as ten million dollars of net worth or one million dollars of passive income each year. While these milestones would be nice, they, or any other financial metrics, are only means to an end — or to no end. Money is only worth what you can do with it.

This, of course, got me thinking. I’ve been focusing on getting myself out of debt, building an emergency fund, saving for retirement, ect, ect, ect. All of these are money-centric goals. I’ve got goals to make more money and spend less money, but no goals on ultimately the point is for me to do ANYTHING with money. Sure, I want to feel financially secure – but what next? What then?

So here are my goals for what I’d like money to do for me:

1) Provide for my basic needs and help give me a comfortable life

This is why I’m doing the savings and the paying and all of the “mini” goals that I have now – I want “enough” money to make sure that I can pay the bills each day of my life – from now until retirement – and make sure that those who are financially dependent on me (at this point in my life, my dog and cats) are also able to have a comfortable life. Note: “Comfortable” and “Enough” don’t mean extravagant, but they do mean able to take vacations, see the world, have food, a few luxuries and not have to worry about how I’m going to pay the electric bill next month.

2)Make the world a better place

Money is a fantastic tool to help effect change in the world. I want to make/have enough money to know that I am causing a POSITIVE impact on the world. When I leave this world I don’t necessarily want my name to be remembered, but I would like someone to remember a nice thing that was done for them – because of the money that I spent/lent/gave.

2 Responses to Money: A Goal or Tool?

  1. TMcImmy says:

    What Next?

    1) Buy a House
    2) Save money for future children’s education

    If no future children, then yes, enjoy the freedom to travel and eat well, and try to make the world a better place.

  2. Jessie says:

    What a thoughtful post… I wonder what I want my money to do for me – other then having x amount of money in x number of accounts.

Leave a Reply

