Worn Out

As September is drawing to a close I’m really starting to feel VERY worn out. My work has started to pick up now (it was moving at a snail’s pace at the beginning of the month, and now I barely have time for lunch and SUDDENLY it is time to go let the dog out). I love being busy, it is MUCH better than sitting around all day twittling my thumbs. However, last time I didn’t get home until 11:15pm (I got into work at around 9am, and went home at 6 for an hour to let my dog out and eat some dinner).

I’m stressed out about my class. They did horrible on the first exam and now I’m not sure what to do in order to teach them better. How do you teach people something when they don’t want to learn? It is quite the conundrum. The adjunct teaching occupies my evenings on Wednesday night (prepping for the class) and Thursday night (teaching the class). And side thoughts the rest of the week on what I need to do and what case studies I should give them.

I’ve also been doing a lot of tutoring. Sunday I usually have 1-2 sessions in the evenings (at 4:30pm and 6pm), last night I had a session from 8:30-11pm (why I was at work this late). And then tonight I’m meeting with another girl at 6:30pm. Good things are coming out of this financially – I’ve earn $391 of my $200 for the Earn More September Challenge – and $215 of this has come from face-to-face tutoring (which I most likely wouldn’t have without this challenge).

I feel like life is now completely non-stop and there isn’t any time to relax and just “chill” – and to make matters worse on Friday I go to Mr. Cousin‘s house and on Saturday he comes to mine. And since this is the beginning of the relationship there is this unspoken pressure to “DO SOMETHING” – okay – it isn’t that unspoken, since he asks me “What do you want to do Friday night?” – And the little voice inside my head says “I’d like to curl up on the couch, pop in a movie, and zone out for the next three hours, please” – but for some reason that doesn’t seem to work when you’re in the beginning of a relationship and you’re supposed to be “fun” and “carefree” and “doing stuff!” all the time. I told him how Fridays I’m really quite a bore and it is hard for me to find energy to go out and be fun, since all I want to do is recover from the week (can you tell I’m an introvert and not an extrovert?) and he probed this a little further – “Well, what about going shopping or going to the movies” — ugh… just want to relax in a blanket and forget the word exists – sorry, that includes you, but you’re welcome to join as long as you keep quiet and provide me with brownies and ice cream (which he did, good boy!)

Anyway, I’m not sure if I’m the only one who feels this way, but I’m got myself booked up pretty tight with tutoring and teaching and working – it will be very nice to spend a week in Chicago where the only thing I need to worry about in the evenings is to set the alarm to wake up the next morning. That will be a VERY nice change of pace. =D

6 Responses to Worn Out

  1. Jessie says:

    I hope you get that chance to curl under a blanket and veg while your in Chicago. I wonder if you might be able to compromise with Mr. Cousin for Friday night. If he wants to do something, get him to pick up a movie and bring it to your place. You can zone out in front of the TV and he can have his ‘movie night’….

  2. TMcImmy says:

    Every once in a while it’s good to take a weekend night to yourself. Think of it as maintaining an air of mystery.

    I actually think it’s a mistake to make too much of an effort to be “fun” early in a relationship, if there is an expectation if will change down the line. It sort of sets up difficulties later when the one person wonders where their “fun” partner went. Of course, I suppose it works great if both people are doing the same thing, although it can lead to discussions of “we never go out any more” “I know. I’m tired”.

    Friday Nights can definitely be the worst. There’s this perceived pressure to do something, but we’ve often gotten up fairly early and are beaten up from a workweek. K is usually passing out before midnight, defiantly keeping her eyes open watching something when her body would rather be sleeping. I suppose you could always chug a Rockstar?

    • SS4BC says:

      haha… If only Rockstar had the effect on me TMcImmy — I can chug one and fall right to sleep. =(

      But you’re right, it is good to take time A) for yourself and B) NOT to make too much effort to be funner than I am – and trust me – I’m not. I don’t think that we’ve gone outside of the apartment on a Friday night more than twice now. I’m pretty sure he’s convinced that I’m completely boring – and I’m okay with that, cause I am. 😉

  3. MPP says:

    I absolutely adore low-key Friday nights. I know you’re suppose to have fun that night because you can sleep in the next day, but I just am so exhausted from the week that I’m useless in social outings!

  4. Ann says:

    i feel you on the Friday night exhaustion! By the end of the week I’m only interested in changing into my comfy clothes and hanging out with my trusty DVR! Luckily, the BF is usually tired by Friday and rarely wants to go out. I’d say we head out on the town once every other month on a Friday – we are so boring!! 😀

    But if you honestly don’t feel up to it you should definitely let your man know. I’m sure he’ll understand and maybe he’ll offer to bring over wine, pizza, and a DVD. Now that sounds like my kind of night! Good luck with the rest of the week!

  5. TeacHer says:

    I am the same way about Friday nights. All I want to do is sit on the couch, eat pizza, and drink copious amounts of red wine. And usually that is what T and I do 🙂

    In terms of your class, I would print up a little evaluation form that asks them what info they need more help with, what you could do better, etc. I do this all the time and it’s really enlightening. I also try to make myself as available as possible for tutoring and review sessions, and I encourage email dialogue with my students to explain tough concepts. Just a couple of ideas since teaching people who don’t want to learn is my area of expertise. (Sad, but true)

Leave a Reply

