A Pictoral Summary of My Saturday

So last night I decided to go through my clothes. My goal was to reduce the number of clothes that I own by at least 50%. I’ve thus far accomplished that.

Here is a picture of my closet beforehand…. just some 157 of my shirts hanging up in the closet:

After going through all of my shirts and dresses I reduced from 157 shirts and dresses to 64 shirts and dresses. A net decrease of 59%.

I also had a pile of shirts on top of my shirts that were hanging up, there were 47 shirts here. I kept 4 of them. A net decrease of 91%.

Then on the other side of the closet I have some drawers with pants and the like and some jackets hanging up. I had 76 items over here and have kept 21 of them. A net decrease of 72%.

As you can see, my closet is a huge mess in and of itself – irrespective of the clothes in it. However, that isn’t one of my projects for the weekend – I’ll address the overflowing nature of all of my junk in the closet in the weeks to come during Apartment Therapy.

So, I took the name brand items that I had that were in nice condition down to the local consignment shop. I thought maybe I’d get $20 for the items I dropped off – considering it was a pretty big cardboard box of clothes – however, they only accepted 3 items and I got $5.40 for them. Which is $5.40 I didn’t have before – but still is nothing compared to what I was hoping for. However, I’ve added the $5.40 to my Earn More September total – giving me now nearly $200 for the month and still quite a lot of money left to earn!

Now I have to figure out what to do with the rest of the nicer clothes. I’m not sure if it is worth trying to list the clothes on eBay and having them sit around my apartment for a few weeks while they try to sell – or if I should just donate them to a local Goodwill and wish them well on their adventures. I’ll put them in the Outbox and figure it out over the course of the next few days.

After I dropped off my clothes at the consignment shop, I took my cans and bottles to recycling. We don’t get paid to recycle in my state, so I didn’t get any money here. Then I went to Biolife to see about donating plasma for money. I thought I would be able to walk in and get it taken care of – and even allotted 4 hours of time to do this – however they are by appointment only and the next appointment isn’t until next week. So I have an appointment for Saturday next weekend to give plasma.

Then I went to the grocery store and picked up ingredients for the 3 meals that I decided to cook. It cost about $50 for everything, which is a bit high as far as I’m concerned, but I have 2 chicken breasts left over and a pound of ground beef, so that’s good. I also had to pick up some spices that I didn’t own and some heavy duty foil and freezer bags. So a lot of  the money I spent (around $15) was spent on one time costs. If you take that out of the equation, each serving comes out to around $3, which isn’t fantastic – but I have some ideas of how to improve that.

I started cooking at 2pm. By 3:34pm my kitchen looked like this:

And my freezer had 3 different meals in it, in 8 different packages (4 TV dinner meals and 4 with two servings for dinner and lunch the next day).

I made some TV dinners with beef enchiladas and refried beans and mexican style rice. I’m not sure I’ll like the rice, but I did have enough left over enchilada fixings to make myself one extra and ate that for lunch while I was cooking. Here is what my TV dinner looked like before I stuck it into the freezer.

I also made some chicken with orange/lemon/honey glaze and bacon creamy chicken. Hopefully they all taste good and are worth the time and money. However, since it only took an hour and a half to cook for the entire week, I’m feeling pretty good about the time spent making these meals. =D

Oh yes, and here is my puppy Jack waiting for me to finish cooking. I put a piece of tape on his head to see how he would react – turns out, he didn’t care a bit!

12 Responses to A Pictoral Summary of My Saturday

  1. I had a similar experience with reselling clothes to Plato’s Closet. Most of my stuff wasn’t to their liking and I also made less than $6. It almost wasn’t worth the trip to me… Is there another consignment store you could try?
    I’m very impressed with how productive you were! Can you pass some of that motivation this way? I really need to clean my whole apartment and continue the decluttering and drop off a ton of stuff to Goodwill.

    • SS4BC says:

      Heheh I’d give you some if I could, however this is the first time that I’ve had this much motivation in quite a few months – so I am using it to my full advantage!

      I’m halfway done with my car project – I’ve just decided to bring stuff in from my car each time I have to take my dog outside. =)

      As for other consignment shops, I’m not sure. But seeing as I live in a college town and I’m a 20-something, Plato’s closet was my best bet.

  2. Jessie says:

    I love all of the pictures!!

    You’re getting so much of your list done, that’s awesome!\

    Your dog is sooo cute!!

  3. mo says:

    totally impressive wardrobe cull! I am doing ebay at the moment and it really is a right hassle. Sometimes it pays off big time, but often things dont sell there either!

    • SS4BC says:

      Yeah, that’s what I was afraid of mo. I may try two or three of the things that I think are worth a little bit more and just give away the rest. I don’t want these pieces of clothing haunting me for weeks – the longer they stay around the more likely it is that pieces will make it back into my closet.

  4. De-cluttering feels so good.

    Reminds me, I need to get off the computer and into my closet! *scared* hehe.

    Well done!! 🙂

  5. MPP says:

    Wow, you’re getting so much done, I love it. Keep the pictures coming! And I loooooove your dog!!!

  6. Laura @mtp says:

    Wow, I love this post. What a great Saturday 🙂

  7. Pingback: Another Saturday! « Small Steps for Big Change

  8. eemusings says:

    Your apartment is beautiful! Love the kitchen cabinets.

    I wanna go through my wardrobe too – my storage system is dismal and I need to really purge, and fill the gaps. I think it might be a blog project 🙂

  9. Red says:

    Jack is so cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

