Wow – Extra, Unexpected Money!

Since my first payday at the community college I’m teaching at is tomorrow, I wanted to see how much money I could be expecting every two weeks.

When I looked at the paystub, I noticed that it was a little different than I was expecting.

I had two different pay amounts:

1) Adjunct Faculty – $256.00

2) Substitute Faculty – $145.00

For a total of $354.17 after personal deductions and employer contributions and all that fun stuff.

ANYWAY – It took me about 10 minutes to looking at the pay stub to understand what was going on with #2 the “Substitute Faculty” pay of $145.  Remember back in June? Remember how I got this job in the first place? I substitute lectured for the Chemistry prof in exchange for getting an adjunct position! I just ASSUMED that I wouldn’t get any money from that since I was benefitting by getting a job, but it turns out I AM getting paid for 4 hours of work! (I only did 2, but I’m okay with getting paid for more).

I also found out, that the community college PAYS my federal taxes and my medicare, so I only have to pay state and local taxes – which is only around $15. So every other week I should get around $240 – or nearly $500 extra per month – that is a pretty sweet deal in my opinion.

As for the extra $145 – that is going straight onto my credit card, of COURSE! =D

Since it is “found” money – I’m also counting towards my “Earn More September” fund.

5 Responses to Wow – Extra, Unexpected Money!

  1. MPP says:

    Hooray! Aww I love extra unexpected money!! 🙂

  2. I love extra unexpected money too! Congrats.

    Best wishes,

    Janie

  3. mo says:

    dontcha just LOVE an unexpected windfall

  4. Jessie says:

    Hooray!! That’s wonderful news!

    Your going to kick that credit card’s A**!

  5. Leigh says:

    That’s great!!! What a wonderful way to end a week

Leave a Reply

