Apartment Therapy Week 2

I’m currently undergoing Apartment Therapy to make my home a more enjoyable place to live. This week is Week #2, if you’d like to read about what happened during the first week, please see this post on Week #1.

So here is what I have to do for Week 2:

  • Fix one thing in my apartment myself
  • Clean my kitchen from top to bottom and throw away old food
  • Buy a water filter and use it
  • Run your hands over every wall in your apartment
  • Clear space for an Outbox
  • Clear one surface and use the Outbox
  • Buy fresh flowers
  • Determine your style
  • Find a new recipe and cook one meal at home

Fix one thing in my apartment myself

I fixed my remotes. That’s something right? The batteries were dead in them and my battery charger broke mysteriously the past month. So while at Ikea I bought 10 batteries for $2. I’d rather have bought a new battery charger, but will probably end up buying one on Amazon with the giftcards I’ve earned through Swagbucks. While this wasn’t something that was on my original list of things to fixed, it is something that I did myself and more over NEEDED to be done. It was a little embarrassing when Mr Cousin and I were watching a movie and I had to take the batteries out of my TV remote to put into my DVD remote. I mean seriously, it isn’t like batteries cost THAT much that I should feel like I can only have two for my entire living room.

Clean my kitchen from top to bottom and throw away old food

The book recommends that this be done on the weekend or spread out over a few nights. I got it done in about 4 hours. It was a little easier than I think the book was imagining because I’m not a person who stores a lot of food in my apartment. In fact, every guy I’ve dated since moving to the Midwest has commented that my fridge resembles a bachelor’s fridge. I’ve even considered on a few occasions just getting a mini-fridge and unplugging the big thing just to save money on electricity. I mean, I have a few veggies, some frozen chicken, and butter. I shop for the week, and generally only buy things that I’m going to make within the next 10 days at most. So I didn’t have a lot of food to get rid of.

However, I did clean up all the counters, do all my dirty dishes (two dishwasher loads worth, yuck), clean the grease pans on the stove, give the stove a thorough clean down, cleaned the top of the fridge, cleared off stuff on my counters that I didn’t need anymore, cleaned up my dining room table, and cleared out some boxes that I had in the dining room from moving here (1 year and a half ago).

When I was at Ikea yesterday I also picked up new seat cushions for my dining room chairs as part of my therapy. My old ones were just covered in hair to the point where I didn’t even WANT to clean them. The new ones were $6 a piece and have removable covers which should make them easier to clean up when they do get cat hair on them.

Buy a water filter and use it

I already have a Brita filter on my sink. I use it all the time. I just replace the filter on it two weeks ago, so it is good to go. BTW… for those of you who don’t have a water filter on your faucet or in your fridge, I can’t recommend them enough. They are so much better for the environment than bottled water and they make your tap water taste like bottled water. So you save a lot of money and you have great tasting water all the time – it is a win-win situation. They are super cheap, like $30 or so. I fully endorse getting one if you don’t already have one.

Run your hands over every wall in your apartment

Okay, this one seems a little weird. I haven’t done it. I’m not sure if I will. I mean – I guess this helps me get in touch with my apartment? I dunno… I’m not feeling it (literally or figurative, I suppose).

Clear space for an Outbox

So the place in my kitchen that was formerly occupied by old moving boxes now contains my “Outbox” – which is essentially a holding place for all the items that I’m not sure that I want to get rid of. It is supposed to be a place where I can emotionally detach from the objects before deciding what to do with them. Currently my old water cooler, a stuff animal from an ex-boyfriend, a small A1 sauce trinket from an old roommate and an old cat dish are in the Outbox. I have a feeling that my outbox will really just become a collecting spot before sending things to Goodwill. But the week that everything HAS to remain in the Outbox will give me a good idea of what I want to do with the things I put in there.

Clear one surface and use the Outbox

Technically, I didn’t clear just one surface, I cleared my entire kitchen. Just most of the stuff didn’t make it into the Outbox, it was directly deposited into the trash. For some reason deep cleaning lessens my emotional ties to my things. However, the Outbox is still there for the things I’m not sure about. =)

Buy fresh flowers

Okay, so every time I went to the grocery store last week I looked at the flowers. And I didn’t buy any for one reason or another. And I almost bought a pineapple plant at Ikea, but then realized that a plant and fresh cut flowers serve different purposes. The whole idea of the flowers is to be something temporary that makes your apartment beautiful for the week.  I did bring a vase from work (my dad gave me flowers at work for my birthday last year) to my apartment so that I can put flowers in it. Also, I’m still a tight wad – so I don’t want to spend more than $5 for a bunch of flowers that are just going to die in a few days. That leaves very few options. We’ll see – I need to just suck up and buy the flowers – cause I know I will love them.

Determine your style

I did this really fun quiz on Sproost and found out that I’m Vintage Modern with a little bit Hollywood Couture.  I’m not sure what the whole point of finding this out is, since I’m not planning on buying any new furniture, but it was fun to do none the less.

Find a new recipe and cook one meal at home

Okay, I can see how the me of a year ago would need to be told to cook one meal at home in the course of a week. But the me of the last 8-9 months has been cooking at least two meals a week at home every week (I always cook for 4, even though I am only one, so I can have left-overs for lunch). I actually have been switching up the cookbooks that I use, and have made some really delicious things recently. However, because the book is asking, this week I’ll make one thing I’ve never made before. AND I’ll make it this evening: Banana Bread. And, since Mr Cousin gave me 7 ripe bananas for bread, I may even get REALLY adventurous and also make a loaf of Banana Peanut Butter Bread!

So that is how my Apartment Therapy is going this week. I’m really loving it. I actually and thoroughly enjoying cleaning up my place, making it beautiful and livable again. Yeah, it isn’t the most frugal thing I could be doing, but I’ve only spent $15 at it so far – so that ain’t bad. 😉

2 Responses to Apartment Therapy Week 2

  1. Pingback: Apartment Therapy Week 3 « Small Steps for Big Change

  2. Pingback: Cooking Fool «

Leave a Reply

